Runcton Holme with South Runcton, Wallington and Thorpeland Norfolk
Guide to Runcton Holme with South Runcton, Wallington and Thorpeland, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Runcton Holme with South Runcton, Wallington and Thorpeland Norfolk|
|Poor Law Union||Downham|
|Parish registers: 1562|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1692|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
RUNCTON, SOUTH (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Downham, hundred of Clackclose, W. division of Norfolk, 4¼ miles (N. N. E.) from Downham. The living is a rectory, with the livings of Holme,Thorpland, and Wallington annexed. 
Runcton Holme St James including South Runcton, Wallington and Thorpeland is an Ancient parish in the diocese of Norwich. Also called Home-next-Runcton and Runcton Bottom.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Downham 1837-1974 with changes of sub district grouping
Church records[edit | edit source]
Runcton Holme with South Runcton, Wallington and Thorpeland Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Runcton Holme with South Runcton, Wallington and Thorpeland Norfolk Online Parish Records|
This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:
|Baptisms, burials and marriages 1725-1812||FHL BRITISH Film |
1526808 Item 14
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Downham/Downham.shtml
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Norfolk: Runcton Holme on GenUKI
- Norfolk: South Runcton on GenUKI
- Norfolk: Wallington cum Thorpland on GenUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 711-716. Date accessed: 13 May 2013.
- Pat Newby, "Norfolk: Towns and Parishes", GenUKI
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014. Described as 'South Ruston.'
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014. Described as 'South Ruston.'
- 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014. Described as 'South Ruston.'
- 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.