Runcorn Weston St John, Cheshire Genealogy
Guide to Runcorn Weston St John, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Runcorn Weston St John, Cheshire|
St John the Evangelist Weston Runcorn
|Poor Law Union||Runcorn|
|Parish registers: 1842|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Diocese||Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester|
|Probate Court||Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cheshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
RUNCORN (St. Bartholomew), is a sea-port and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Bucklow, the Northern division of the county of Chester; it is 9 miles (S. W. by W.) from Warrington, and 12 miles (E. S. E.) from Liverpool.
The parish includes the chapelries of Aston-by-Sutton, Daresbury, Halton, and Thelwall; and the townships of Acton-Grange, Aston-Grange, Clifton, Hatton,Keckwick, Moore, Newton-by-Daresbury, Norton, Prestonon-the-Hill, Stockham, Sutton, Walton Inferior and Superior, and Weston. 
Runcorn Weston St John is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1842 from Runcorn, Cheshire Ancient Parish.
St John the Evangelist's Church, Weston is in Weston, once a separate village and now part of the town of Runcorn, Cheshire, England. The church is a Grade II* listed building. It is an active Anglican parish church in the diocese of Chester, the archdeaconry of Chester and the deanery of Frodsham
The church was built between 1897 and 1898 to a design by Douglas and Fordham at a cost of over £5,000 (£410 thousand as of 2010). St John's became a separate parish in 1931.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Runcorn Weston St John parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Runcorn Weston St John Online Parish Records|
|FMP Diocese PRs||1538-1911||1538-1910||1538-1911|
|FMP Diocese BTs||1576-1906||1576-1906||1576-1906|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
Halton (post 1974)
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Runcorn Weston St John on GENUKI
Runcorn On GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 5 April 2013
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.