Rufford Abbey, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to: Rufford Abbey, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|Rufford Abbey, Nottinghamshire|
Rufford Abbey Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Southwell|
|Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Court of the Manor of Rufford Abbey|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
RUFFORD, an extra-parochial liberty, in the union of Southwell, Hatfield division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 2 miles (S. S. W.) from Ollerton. It extends southward from the vicinity of Ollerton, for more than six miles. An abbey for Cistercian monks, in honour of the Blessed Virgin Mary, was founded here in 1148.
Rufford Abbey is an extra parochial place and contains the ruined Cistercian Abbey which did not survive the dissolution of the monasteries. The estate later became a home to the Earls of Scarborough and is now owned as managed as a Country park by Nottinghamshire County Council. The history of the estate is described Worksop Heritage Trail See also Rufford Abbey Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Rufford Abbey
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.