Roughton with Haltham, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Roughton with Haltham, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Roughton with Haltham, Lincolnshire|
|Poor Law Union||Horncastle|
|Parish registers: 1564; Separate registers exist for Haltham beginning 1561|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1562; Separate records exist for Haltham beginning 1561|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
ROUGHTON (St. Margaret), a parish, in the union and soke of Horncastle, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 4 miles (S. S. W.) from the town of Horncastle. 
ROUGHTON, a parish in Horncastle district, Lincoln; on the river Bain, 4 miles E of Woodhall-Spa r.station, and 4 S by W of Horncastle. Post-town, Horncastle. The living is a rectory, united with Haltham-upon-Bain, in the diocese of Lincoln.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Roughton with Haltham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Roughton with Haltham Online Parish Records|
|FMP Marr Index||
|FS Catalog PRs||
|FS Catalog BTs||
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.