To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Ross County, Ohio Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ross County, Ohio)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Ross County, Ohio ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}

Ross County, Ohio
Map
Boundary map of Ross County, Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Ross County Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Address Ross County Courthouse
2 N. Paint St.
Chillicothe, Ohio 45601
Ross County Website


Ross County, Ohio Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1867 1798 1867 1798 1797 1797 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1908. General compliance year is unknown.
  • Parent Counties: Formed from Adams and Washington Counties in 1798.
  • County Seat: Chillicothe
     

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Federalist Senator James Ross of Pennsylvania.[2] It's county seat is Mansfield and was founded August 20, 1798. It is located in the Southcentral area of the state.[3]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county: [4]

Cities
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships
Ghost towns

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Pickaway County  • Hocking County  • Vinton County  • Jackson County  • Pike County  • Highland County  • Fayette County

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1940) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Ross County, Ohio family Bible records, vol. 1

Biography[edit | edit source]

Business Records and Commerce[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGW Tombstones

Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

OHGenWeb Tombstone Photos

Ohio Gravestones

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.
  • Cemetery Index Ohio Genealogy Express
  • Cemeteries of Ross County Linkpendium
  • Many Cemetery Records for Ross County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.

Census and Directories[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.

Finding More Church Records[edit source]

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ross County, Ohio Genealogy Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records[edit | edit source]

  • Gateways to the West $ (Includes Territorial Court Order Book, 1798-1799, 1799-1800, Index to Estates and Guardianships 1797-1820).
  • Many Court Records for Ross County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

  • Many Minority Records for Ross County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Ross County, Ohio Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Ross County, Ohio
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
  • Finley, Isaac J. and Rufus Putnam, Pioneer Record and Reminiscences of the Early Settlers and Settlement of Ross County, Ohio, (Cincinnati, Ohio: Robert Clarke, 1871). Digital copy at Internet Archive FHL film 824057 Item 3
  • Perkins, George, Pioneer Sketches, Life in the Northwest Territory and Ross County, Ohio: 1600s-1896, (Chillicothe, Ohio: Ross County Genealogical Society, 1999). FHL book 977.182 H2p


Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Finding More Land Records[edit source]

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ross County, Ohio Genealogy Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:



Maps[edit | edit source]

Fayette CountyPickaway CountyHocking CountyVinton CountyPike CountyHighland CountyJackson CountyOH ROSS.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Military[edit | edit source]

General[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
  • Civil War service men from Ross County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Ross County.
- 1st Regiment, Ohio Cavalry, Company M
- 1st Regiment, Ohio Heavy Artillery, Company B
- 106th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Company F
World War I[edit | edit source]
World War II[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenships[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Ross County, Ohio Genealogy newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers. Online Newspapers

OnlineNewspaperAbstracts

Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Ross County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Ross County, Ohio Genealogy Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

  • Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (1981).  Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981).FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.

See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).


Online Probate Records

Finding More Probate Records[edit source]

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ross County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records[edit | edit source]

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Ross County Courthouse
2 N Paint Street
Chillicothe, OH 45601
Phone: 740.702.3085

Probate Judge has birth, marriage, death and probate records;
Clerk Court has divorce records from late 1800’s and court records;
County Recorder has land records[5]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory. Put your town name in the top search box.

Libraries[edit | edit source]
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]

Ross County, Ohio Genealogical Society
PO Box 6352
Chillicothe, OH 45601-6352
Telephone: 740-773-2715
Email:rcgs@bright.net
Website

Ross County Heritage Center
45 West Fifth Street
Chillicothe, Ohio 45601
Telephone:740-773-1896 Library
Society 740-772-1936
Email:info@rosscountyhistorical.org
Website

Online Genealogy Research Groups[edit | edit source]

Schools[edit | edit source]

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Ohio Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ross County, Ohio Genealogy Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Ross County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Ross County, Ohio Genealogy Probate Court with divorce records located with the Ross County, Ohio Genealogy Clerk of Courts.

See also How to order Ohio Vital Records or order vital records electronically online.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Original Birth Records on Microfilm

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Online Marriage Indexes and Records


Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

  • Many Divorce Records for Ross County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details
Death[edit | edit source]

Online Death Indexes and Records

Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ross County, Ohio Genealogy Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ross County, Ohio. Page 540-547 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 531-533.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Ross County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ross_County,_Ohio accessed 2/22/2017.
  3. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Ross County, Ohio Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ohio/ross/ accessed 2/27/2017.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Ross County, Ohio," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ross_County,_Ohio, accessed 11 January 2019.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ross County, Ohio. Page 545 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.