Romania Jewish Records
Jump to navigation Jump to search
|Romania Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
|Jewish Genealogy Research|
Maps of Romania[edit | edit source]
- To view present-day Romania at Google Maps, click here.
- For a Jewish population density map of Europe in 1900, click here.
- For a map showing the percentage of Jews in the Pale of Settlement and Congress Poland, c. 1905, click here.
- To view an additional historical map showing the historical percentage of Jews in governments, click here.
Definition of "Pale of Settlement" from Wikipedia.org:
The Pale of Settlement (Russian: Черта́ осе́длости, chertá osédlosti, Yiddish: דער תּחום-המושבֿ, der tkhum-ha-moyshəv, Hebrew: תְּחוּם הַמּוֹשָב, tḥùm ha-mosháv) was the term given to a region of Imperial Russia in which permanent residency by Jews was allowed and beyond which Jewish permanent residency was generally prohibited. It extended from the eastern pale, or demarcation line, to the western Russian border with the Kingdom of Prussia (later the German Empire) and with Austria-Hungary. The English term "pale" is derived from the Latin word "palus", a stake, extended to mean the area enclosed by a fence or boundary.
Jewish History in Romania[edit | edit source]
- Read the Wikipedia.org article History of the Jews in Romania, by clicking here.
- Romanian Fusgeyers: A Brief History and a Research Case Study, Lane Fischer. For a link to this article as published inATSMI UVSARI (My Bone and My Flesh), Number 14, Summer 2006, publisher Utah Jewish Genealogical Society, click here (a PDF download, see top of page 2).
- An English description of The Bucharest Museum of Jewish History from Romania is found here (It is best to use Western ISO 8859-1 encoding to browse this page.)
- Visit Romanian Jewish Heritage website sponsored by B'nai B'rith International and the Federation of Jewish Communities of Romania by clicking here.
- Explore: The YIVO Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe.
JewishGen.org Family Finder[edit source]
Find others, possibly cousins, searching for your family name in the same countries, cities, and villages. Search by clicking JewishGen Family Finder. Free registration required.
The JewishGen Romania/Moldova Database[edit | edit source]
- More than 900,000 records for Romania and Moldova, from a variety of sources, including: voter lists, census records, business directories, vital records, diplomatic records, yizkor books, and others. Requires free registration. To search, click here.
JewishGen Romania SIG[edit | edit source]
- View all the links and helps on the JewishGen Special Interest Group page by clicking here.