|Romania Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Romania ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Country Information[edit | edit source]
Romania is a country in Southeast Europe bordered by Bulgaria, Ukraine, Hungary, Serbia, and Moldova. Parts of Romania formerly belonged to the Austro-Hungarian, Ottoman, and Russian empires. The official language is Romanian.
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Romania Research
Links to articles on getting started with Romania research.
Romania Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Romania research.
Romania Map[edit | edit source]
Counties[edit | edit source]
Romania has 41 counties (judet - singular, judete - plural) and 1 municipality* (municipiu). The word judet is usually seen in the form judeţul, which means "the district."
Historical Regions: Bukovina
More Romania Research Tools[edit | edit source]
Research tools can include resources that assist in locating correct records to search and determining the correct locality to search in. Below are links and Wiki articles to research tools in Romania.
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records
- Family History Center locator map
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Romania," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Romania, accessed 24 March 2016.