Romania Census

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Romania Wiki Topics
Arms of Romania.gif
Beginning Research
Record Types
Romania Background
Local Research Resources

Introduction[edit | edit source]

Census records (recensămînt) are an enumeration of the population created by the government. They list the names of each member of a family and show ages and other valuable information for linking families. Together with parish records and civil registration, they can be used to prove biographical information and family relationships (including linking generations). The first Romanian national census was taken in 1859; the first Austro-Hungarian census was taken in 1785.

Coverage[edit | edit source]

Romanian national censuses were taken in 1859 (Wallachia and Moldavia), 1899 and 1912 (Wallachia, Moldavia, and Dobrogea only), 1930 (includes Moldova and Bukovina), 1941, 1956, and 1966. Austro-Hungarian censuses for Transylvania, Banat, and Bukovina were taken in 1785, 1805, 1828, 1857, 1869, 1880, 1890, 1900, and 1910. 20-50% of the population can be found in these records.

Content[edit | edit source]

Early censuses give names of heads of families. Later censuses include other household members and give ages or birth dates, places of residence, civil status, occupation, and other such information.

Accessing the Records[edit | edit source]

The National Archives of Romania (Archivele Nationale ale Romaniei) and the National Archives of Hungary hold these censuses. The records are kept under good storage conditions. [1]

The Family History Library has filmed 10% of these records. Most of the records acquired are of the early Austro-Hungarian census records, covering parts of Transylvania. These were acquired from archives in Hungary.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. The Family History Department of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, “Family History Record Profile: Romania,” Word document, private files of the FamilySearch Content Strategy Team, 1989-1997.