Rockland All Saints, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Rockland All Saints, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Rockland All Saints, Norfolk|
|Poor Law Union||Wayland|
|Parish registers: 1697|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1705|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
ROCKLAND (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Wayland, hundred of Shropham, W. division of Norfolk, 3¾ miles (W. by N.) from Attleburgh. The joint parishes of Rockland All Saints and St. Andrew comprised 1630. 
Rockland All Saints (with Rockland St Andrew) is an Ancient Parish in the Rockland Deanery of the diocese of Norwich I should not be confused with the village and parish of the same name in Rockland St Mary, Norfolk parish in the Brooke deanery of the diocese.
The two saxon churches of Rockland All Saints and St Andrew were built as large edifices by two lords of the manor and their size indicates the patronage of two wealthy land owners in Rockland at the time of Edward the confessor.
St Andrew's church dominated the parish and the landscape and was an important village over a thousand years ago. The arrival of the Black Death in Rockland had a severe effect on the village with many buildings burned down in an effort to eradicate the disease. St Andrew's was in ruin and a 1781 description has only the tower remaining.
200 yards to the west All Saints is said to date from the 9th century or earlier. It has no windows on the north wall and the tower and a doorway date from the 13th century. The upper stage of the tower forming the belfry was added in the fourteenth century and the oldest bell installed. Joined by a companion cast by Thomas Draper in 1586 and later by three other installed in 1904/1905 the Rockland peal was silenced only for the period of the Second World War where bells could only be rung to announce the threat of invasion. The church has an enthusiastic team of bell ringers.
The manorial history of Rockland, history of the deanery and rectors may be viewed at the British History online web site listed below.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Rockland All Saints, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Rockland All Saints, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Norfolk Record Office reference PD 335/ 1-7, 12
http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~tinstaafl/Church_Pages/rockland_all_saints.htm images of the church and transcripts for Baptisms 1813-1880 Norfolk Baptisms Project
for transcript of Workhouse baptisms 1837-1866 Norfolk Baptisms Project.
Rockland Union Workhouse registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Rockland Union Workhouse Online Records|
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
http://apling.freeservers.com/1891Census/RocklandAllSaints.htm Rockland All Saints and St Andrew 1891 census transcript
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Norfolk: Rockland All Saints with St. Andrew on GenUKI
- Rockland All Saints on A Church Near You
- village website
- Manorial history, history of the deanery with list of Deans and list of rectors on British History Online
- Church of All Saints Rocklands on British Listed Buildings
- Nearby ruined St Andrew Church on British Listed Buildings
- Rockland All Saints Towermill on Norfolk Mills
- History of the White Hart public house on Norfolk Pubs
- Rockland All Saints on Norfolk Churches
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 686-690. Date accessed: 13 May 2013.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
- 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
- 'Subscription Coverage Catalogue', TheGenealogist, accessed 11 January 2016.
- 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.