Rockingham County, North Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Rockingham County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Rockingham County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Rockingham County, North Carolina History
- 3 Rockingham County, North Carolina Places/Localities
- 4 Rockingham County, North Carolina Genealogy Resources
- 4.1 Cemeteries
- 4.2 Census
- 4.3 Church Records
- 4.4 County Records
- 4.5 Court
- 4.6 Education
- 4.7 Land
- 4.8 Local Histories
- 4.9 Maps
- 4.10 Military
- 4.11 Newspapers
- 4.12 Obituaries
- 4.13 Probate
- 4.14 Research Guides
- 4.15 Taxation
- 4.16 Vital Records
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Rockingham County, North Carolina Genealogy Websites
- 7 References
Rockingham County is located in the North-Central portion of North Carolina and shares a border with Virginia. It was named for Charles Watson-Wentworth, Second Marquis of Rockingham, the British prime minister at the time of the repeal of the Stamp Act and a supporter of American Independence.
Rockingham County, North Carolina Courthouse
Rockingham County Courthouse
371 NC 65 #212 PO Box 56
Wentworth, NC 27375
Courthouse burned 1906
Register of Deeds has marriage records from 1868
Birth and Death records from 1913 Clerk Superio Court has
Probate records from 1804; Has marriage records 1741-1868 
Register of Deeds
P.O. Box 56,
Wentworth, NC 27375
Clerk Superior Court
P.O. Box 127
Wentworth, NC 27375-0127
Phone: (336) 634-6000
Rockingham County, North Carolina History
On December 29, 1785, the North Carolina General Assembly enacted legislation that created Rockingham County from the northern half of the Guilford County. The assembly chose to name the new county for Charles Watson-Wentworth, second Marquess of Rockingham (1730-1782). Rockingham was a leading Whig and was Prime Minister of Britain from 1765 to 1766 and again in 1782. His popularity in America was assured when he secured repeal of the hated Stamp Act in 1766 and led the ministry that initiated negotiations to terminate the Revolutionary War. From 1768 to 1781 he had been the leading Parliamentary opponent of both the government's American policy and the war.
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Some of the court records are missing.
Rockingham County, North Carolina Places/Localities
Rockingham County, North Carolina Genealogy Resources
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|North Carolina Cemeteries|
|See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
- North Carolina, Historical Records Survey, Cemetery Inscription Card Index at FamilySearch — index and images
- Rockingham County Cemeteries
For tips on accessing Rockingham County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- Haw River. Constituted 1793.
- Matrimony Creek. Constituted 1780.
- Wolf Island. Constituted 1777.
- Speedwell Church, near Reidsville, N.C. Organized about 1759.
Rockingham County Courthouse
1086 NC Highway 65
Wentworth, NC 27375-0127
P. O. Box 127
Wentworth, NC 27375-0127
Phone: (336) 342-8700
The following sites have copies of transcribed Court Records:
- Ellisboro area
- Midway area
- Reidsville area
- Stephens Crossroads
- Stoneville area
- Wentworth area
- Williamsburg area
- 1795 Carey Matthew Map
- 1796 Carey Matthew Map
- 1779 - 1782 - North Carolina Revolutionary Pay Vouchers 1779-1782 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1885 - 1953 - North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch — index and images
Regiments. Service men in Rockingham County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Rockingham County, North Carolina Genealogy:
- - 13th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry formerly the 3rd Volunteers., Company H
- - 13th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry formerly the 3rd Volunteers., Company I
- - 13th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry formerly the 3rd Volunteers., Company K
- - 14th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, formerly the 4th Volunteers, Company G
- - 4th Battalion, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company D
- - 5th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (63rd Regiment Volunteers), Company D
- - 7th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain George F Fisher's Company
- - 7th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company F
World War I
- 1917 - 1919 - North Carolina, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War II
- 1940 - 1948 - North Carolina, Discharge and Statement of Service Records, 1940-1948 at FamilySearch — index and images
Online Probate Records
- 1660 - 1790 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1663 - 1979 - North Carolina Estate Files, 1663-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1665 - 1998 - North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1735 - 1970 - North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1760 - 1800 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry.com — index and images
- 1804 - 1829 - Images of Wills and Estates. North Carolina Pioneers ($)
The Rockingham County Clerk of Superior Court's office employs 29 Assistant and Deputy Clerks with over 325 years of combined service. The office is divided into five separate divisions, each of which is administered by an Assistant Clerk. While it is a function of the Office of the Clerk of Superior Court to serve the public in connection with legal matters, employees of the Clerks Office cannot give legal advice. Nonetheless, it is the goal of the Office of Clerk of Superior Court to be as helpful as possible to all persons seeking its services.
The Clerks office is open from 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday. The mailing address is P. O. Box 127, 1086 Hwy 65 Wentworth, NC 27375. The telephone number is (336) 342-8700. Payment methods acceptable are cash, money order or cashiers check when paid in person and money order or cashiers check when paid by mail.
The Clerk of the Superior Court has copies of wills, estate records and all records associated with the administration of estates starting from 1772.
- Pre-1790 - Pre-1790 Rockingham County, North Carolina Genealogy Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1785 - 1965 - Will Books A to O (1785-1965) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
The following sites have transcribed copies of Probate Records, some including Wills & Estates:
- Rockingham County Wills & Estates USGenWeb Archives
- Sweeney, Alice J. "Bassett Historical Center," The Virginia Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 28, No. 4 (Aug. 2002):1-3. Available at FHL; digital version at Virginia Genealogical Society website.
- 1815 - Tax Lists, Rockingham County, 1815 (images) online at North Carolina Digital Collections
- 1800 - 2000 - North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1861 - 1892 - Dr. Simpsons Birth Books, Rockingham County, NC NCGenWeb Project
- 1866 - 1964 - North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1741 - 2004 - North Carolina, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1790 - 1965 - Rockingham County Marriage Index 1790-1965 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.
- Rockingham County Marriages
- 1741 - 2004 - North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1759 - 1979 - North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1762 - 1979 - North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1763 - 1868 - North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1926 - 1975 - North Carolina, County Divorce Records, 1926-1975 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1958 - 2004 - North Carolina Divorce Index 1958-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1898 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1898-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1906 - 1930 - North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1908 - 2004 - North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909 - 1975 - North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1931 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
Societies and Libraries
Richmond Co. Genealogical Society
PO Box 1763
Rockingham NC 28380
Rockingham County Historical Society
PO Box 84
Rockingham-stokes Counties Genealogical Society
PO Box 152
Madison-Mayodan Public Library
611 Burton Street
Madison, NC 27025
- Bassett Historical Center, Bassett, Virginia. Website includes descriptions of collections. Excellent resource for family history research in Henry, Patrick, Floyd, Franklin and Pittsylvania counties in Virginia, the city of Martinsville, Virginia, and Rockingham, Stokes and Surry counties in North Carolina.
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Rockingham County, North Carolina Genealogy Websites
- Rockingham County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- USGenWeb Project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Rockingham County, NCGenWeb
- Rockingham County, NCGenWeb Archives
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Rockingham County, North Carolina. Page 512 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 2:567. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- "Speedwell Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com, accessed 22 October 2012.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f5/Iginorthcarolinap.pdf.
- Sweeney, Alice J. "Bassett Historical Center," The Virginia Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 28, No. 4 (Aug. 2002):1-3, available online at: http://www.vgs.org