To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Rock Ferry, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Rock Ferry, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Rock Ferry, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wirrall
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Wirral
Registration District Wirrall
Records begin
Parish registers: 1844
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wirral
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Rock-Ferry, is a village and a chapelry in Bebington parish, Cheshire. The village stands on the river Mersey, and on the Birkenhead, there is a railway station, and a half-hourly steam-boat-ferry to Liverpool. The chapelry incules also the village and iron pier of New Ferry, and was constitued in1844. The church was built in 1842. A Wesleyan chapel is at Rock-Ferry; and a Brethren's chapel at New-Ferry.[1]

Rock Ferry is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cheshire, created in 1844 from Bebington Ancient Parish.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Church records[edit | edit source]

Rock Ferry parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Cheshire Parish Registers, 1538-2000 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Cheshire Bishop's Transcripts, 1598-1900 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Diocese PRs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Parish Registers (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Diocese BTs = Cheshire Diocese Of Chester Bishop's Transcripts (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Rock Ferry Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-2000
1538-2000
1538-2000
FS BTs 1598-1900
1598-1900
1598-1900
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FMP Diocese PRs 1538-1911
1538-1910
1538-1911
FMP Diocese BTs 1576-1906
1576-1906
1576-1906
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Records are also available at the Cheshire Archives and Local Studies.

Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Wesleyan
  • Brethren's

Non-Conformist records:

Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at theFamily History Library in Salt Lake City.

Church records for the Trinity Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, New Chester Road, Rock-Ferry, 1859-1956
FHLFilm
Baptisms, 1859-1928. Marriages, 1867-1956.
BRITISH  2299475 Items 14 - 21

Church records for the Wesley Hall Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Rock-Ferry, 1894-1953

FHLFilm
Baptisms, 1894-1953.
BRITISH 2299475 Item 22

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
  • Wirral (1894-1898)

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Wirral Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Birkenhead Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records - FamilySearch Historical Records

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Rock Ferry on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 25 Jan 2013
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk