Rochester, Monroe County, New York Genealogy
To locate additional published and transcribed records for Rochester, Monroe County, New York Genealogy check:
- Gordon L. Remington, New York Towns, Villages, and Cities: A Guide to Genealogical Sources (Boston: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2002). American Ancestors online edition; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.7 D27r. Alphabetical list including date founded, if a town history exists, church and cemetery sources, and if a Civil War register (TCR) exists. The codes used under Church and Cemetery are defined in the link above the listing of towns, cities and villages.
Old Fulton NY Post Cards has the largest online collection of 400 New York 1795-2007 newspapers. The instructions for this quirky site are needed to get the most out of it.
Old Fulton NY Post Cards has the following Rochester, Monroe County, New York Genealogy newspaper images:
- Rochester NY Album 1825-1828
- Rochester NY Daily Advertiser & Telegraph 1828-1829
- Rochester NY Democrat Chronicle 1884-1948
- Rochester NY Republican 1829-1849
- Rochester NY Telegraph 1818-1820
- Rochester NY Union & Advertiser 1862-1885
A large collection of digitized materials, including directories, newspapers, will records and maps is available at a guide page at the library, http://www3.libraryweb.org/lh.aspx?id=1128
Archives, Libraries and Museums
Central Library of Rochester and Monroe County
115 South Ave.
Rochester, NY 14604
- Local History and Genealogy Department of the Central Library of Rochester and Monroe County has one of the best collections of local historical and genealogical materials in western New York. The department phone number is 585-428-8370. They also have a list of researchers that they can send out via email.
Municipal Archives and Records Center stores City records. An appointment is needed to access the records. An Historic Marriage Records Research service is available for over 170,000 marriage records from 1876 through 1943.
Address: 414 Andrews St, Rochester, New York, 14604
Rare Books and Special Collections of the University of Rochester has digital copies of many original letters of President Lincoln and other Civil War documents on their website.
Rochester Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 10501
Rochester, NY 14610-0501
The site has a list of surnames that members are searching.
The RGS Church Records Preservation Committee has a large number of church records available for free at: http://www.crpc.nyrgs.org/. They also have a patrialindex to many churches searchable at the Rochester Church Indexing Project at: http://www.rcip.info/. The RGS has a web page at: http://nyrgs.org/ and a Facebook page at: https://www.facebook.com/groups/922771531125866/
Rochester Regional links includes links to sites for vital records, religious records, census records, cemeteries, newspapers, military, maps, town histories, historical societies, museums, etc.
City Hall, Room 300A
30 Church St.
Rochester, NY 14614
City of Rochester Historian
Rochester Public Library
115 South Avenue
Rochester, NY 14604
For information about historians in Monroe County, see Municipal Historians of Monroe County, NY.
In order to gain access to city records, you must file an application. Onsite, there is an index to more than 170,000 marriages (1876-1943). The Access to Collection page on the city web site explains how to do this.
- 1860-1917 Index to Some Rochester Area Adoption Records (1860-1917) at NYGenWeb - free.
Mt. Hope Cemetery
These two cemeteries within Rochester have online indexes with the University of Rochester. This link will allow you to search by family name. The scans include original pages contain name, interment date, age, cause of death and residence.