Rochdale St Chad, Lancashire Genealogy
Guide to Rochdale St Chad, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. See a Comprehensive List of Rochdale Chapelries
|Rochdale St Chad, Lancashire|
|Poor Law Union||Rochdale|
|Registration District||Rochdale; Todmorden|
|Parish registers: 1582|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lancashire Record Office|
Part of this parish is in Yorkshire. See also Rochdale St Chad, Yorkshire.
Parish History[edit | edit source]
ROCHDALE St Chad, a borough, market-town, and parish, and the head of a union, chiefly in the hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, but partly in the Upper division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York, 10½ miles north by northeast of Manchester.
Rochdale St Chad Parish, serving a population of nearly one hundred thousand (by 1851), was not the only church built within its boundary. St Chad's parish boundary was divided up into about twenty chapelry districts, each with is own chapel of ease (or church), with baptism and burial registers (rarely marriages--which instead were usually performed at the ancient parish of St Chad's, Rochdale), standing within its parish boundary. Be certain to see the Comprehensive List of Rochdale Chapelries in order to identify its chapels and the availability of all their registers which covered this ancient parish. Identifying all of St Chad's chapels will greatly facilitate thorough research in this parish. St. Mary's church, Hundersfield, consecrated in 1740, is a brick building, of neat interior: the living is a perpetual curacy, endowed with an estate at Shaw producing £50 per annum, and in the patronage of the Vicar. St. James's, Hundersfield, a handsome edifice of stone, in the later English style, with a square embattled tower, was erected in 1820: the living is a perpetual curacy, also in the patronage of the Vicar; net income, £200, arising entirely from the pews. At Healey, Littleborough, Milnrow, Saddleworth, Smallbridge, Spotland-Bridge, Todmorden, Walsden, and Whitworth, are other incumbencies. In the town are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Presbyterians, Unitarians, Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, Methodists of the New Connexion, the Wesleyan Methodists Association, the Society of Friends, and Roman Catholics. In 1823 the late James Dearden, Esq., purchased of Richard Greaves Townley, Esq., of Belfield Hall, the ancient Trinity chapel, for the sum of £650. This chapel was erected in the time of Henry VII., by the Marlands, of Marland, and Butterworths, of Belfield, both places in the parish of Rochdale. The mother church, that of St. John the Baptist, stands at the east end of the town... All Souls church, or Haley hill church, noticed in our article on HALEY HILL, ranks next in interest to St. Johns. Trinity church, in Harrison lane, was built in 1795; and is a handsome Grecian edifice. St. James' church was built in 1828; and is in bad Gothic style. St. Mary's church was built in 1869, at a cost of £5, 500. A new cemetery was formed, in 1841, at a cost of about £5, 000; and another, at StoneyRoyd, was formed in 1861, at a cost of about £10, 000. An Independent chapel, near the railway station, was built in 1857, at a cost of above £1 5, 000; is in very ornate decorated English style; and consists of nave, cloisters, and transepts, with central tower and crocketed spire, rising to the height of 235 feet. Another Independent chapel, in the first pointed style. was built in 1869, at a cost of about £9, 000. There are also three other chapels for Independents, three for Baptists, one for Quakers, one for Unitarians, two for Wesleyans, one for Primitive Methodists, two for New Connexion Methodists, one for United Free Methodists, and one for Roman Catholics. Carpets, cashmeres, orleanses, coburgs, merinoes, lastings, alpacas, damasks, baizes, narrow cloths, broad cloths, kerseymeres, moussline de laines, shalloons, fancy waistcoatings, and other fabrics are made. Dyeing, card making, and the manufacture of chemicals also are carried on. The town was made a parliamentary burgh, by the Reform act, in 1832... Its limits were extended in 1865, and include all the township of Halifax, and parts of the townships of Ovenden, Skircoat, Northowram and Southowram. 1851, 25,161; in 1861, 28,990. Houses, 6,120. The parish contains also the townships of Northowram, Southowram, Skircoat, Shelf, Ovenden, Midgley, Warley, Norland, Sowerby, Soyland, Rishworth, Barkisland, Stainland, Elland-with-Greetland, Hipperholme-with-Brighouse, Rastrick, Fixby, Wadsworth, Erringden, Heptonstall, Stansfield, and Langfield [most of which possess a chapelry]; the last five of which are in the district of Todmorden.
For a list of all places with chapels (Church of England) within the boundary of this parish, view the Comprehensive List of Rochdale Chapelries.
Resources[edit | edit source]
The Family History Library's British collection has monumental transcriptions of Hawkshead parish and for the Society of Friends old burial ground.
Read about England Civil Registration (vital records) of birth, marriages and deaths on the England main page.
There are two separate (free) indexes available for Lancashire civil registration of births, marriages and deaths. One index covers all registrations nation-wide, and one index covers the copies of the local registration districts' certificate copies for all registration districts throughout Lancashire, as follows:
- FreeBMD - an online (free) nation-wide index to the certificates held at the General Registrar's Office, formerly in London, now in Solihull, Merseyside, UK. The years currently covered in this index include July, 1837 to at least 1940.
- LancashireBMD - an online index (free) to county-wide births, marriages and deaths for all registration districts throughout Lancashire, for the following range of years and their events: births 1837-1974; marriages 1837-2010; deaths 1837-1975.
- Lancashire-OPC.org.uk (below) provides numerous parish and chapel transcriptions online (free) running concurrent with the post-1837 to 1910 period. While the parish registers are not certified copies of the civil certificates of birth and death, they do however, often provide primary source birth (baptisms/christenings) and death (burials) information; of especial note are the post-1837 parish marriage registers which provide an exact replica of the civil registration certificates of marriages.
FamilySearch's Family History Library British collections holds the quarterly indexes of births, marriages and deaths from July, 1837 to 1983 in microform media.
- 1538 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Parish Registers 1538-1910 at FamilySearch — index
- 1603 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Cheshire, Yorkshire, Parish Registers, 1603-1910 at FamilySearch — index and images
St Chad Rochdale parish has been a very populated township possessing about 20 or more chapelries, and district churches each with church registers. There are online transcriptions for St Chad Rochdale Parish, and for the baptism, marriage and burial registers of many of its attached chapelries lying within its boundary. Displayed below are those chapelries attached to St Chad ancient parish) along with the ranges of years for which there is available online data at the websites indicated below:
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|FMP = findmypast (£)|
|FREG = FreeReg|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|GENGLD = Gengold.co.uk|
|GLUK = GenealogyLinksUK|
|HATH = Hathi Trust Digital Library|
|LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk|
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk|
|TODWLS = Todmorden and Walsden Website|
ROCHDALE ST CHAD PARISH (1582) Indexes
|ROCHDALE ST MARY (BAUM CHAPEL) CEMETERY (1742) Indexes|
|ROCHDALE ST ALBANS Chapelry (1856) Indexes|
ROCHDALE ST PAUL PARISH (1755) Indexes
|BUTTERWORTH ST JAMES (MILNROW) Chapelry (1715) Indexes|
|CASTLETON ST MARTIN Chapelry (1858) Indexes|
|DOBCROSS HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (YORKS) (1787) Indexes (Yorks.)|
|FRIARMERE ST THOMAS Chapelry (1767) Indexes (Yorks.)|
|FRIEZLAND Chapelry (YORKS) (1848) Indexes (Yorks.)|
|GREENFIELD ST THOMAS Chapelry (1874) Indexes (Yorks.)|
|HEY (or CHURCH LEES) ST JOHN THE BAPTIST Chapelry (1743) Indexes - partly in Ashton under Lyne|
|HEALEY CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1847) Indexes|
|LITTLEBOROUGH HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1741) Indexes|
|LYDGATE ST ANN'S Chapelry (1788) Indexes (Yorks.)|
|MILNROW ST JAMES (BUTTERWORTH) - see under BUTTERWORTH|
|SADDLEWORTH ST CHAD Chapelry (1613) Indexes (Yorks.)|
|SMALLBRIDGE ST JOHN THE BAPTIST Chapelry (1834) Indexes|
|SPOTLAND ST CLEMENT Chapelry (1835) Indexes|
|TODMORDEN ST MARY Chapelry (1624) Indexes (Yorks.)|
|GLUK||1781-1857 (part.)||1822-1838;1844-1874 (part.)||1666-1904 (part.)|
|TODWLS||1680-1901 (part.)||1680-1901 (part.)||1680-1901 (part.)|
|TODMORDEN CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1834) Indexes (Yorks.)|
|TUNSTEAD HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1840) Indexes|
|WALSDEN ST PETER Chapelry (1845) Indexes (Yorks.)|
|TODWLS||1845-1878 (part.)||1845-1878 (part.)||1845-1878 (part.)|
|WARDLE WITH WUERDLE ST JAMES Chapelry (1859) Indexes - see also SMALLBRIDGE ST JOHN|
|WARLDEWORTH ST JAMES Chapelry (1821) Indexes|
|WARDLEWORTH ST MARY Chapelry (1700) Indexes|
|WHITWORTH ST BARTHOLOMEW Chapelry (1753) Indexes|
Most of St Chad's original parish registers and its attched chapelries and their registers are found at the Manchester Central Library Local Studies Unit, Lancashire, England, or, a few may still be in local custody (held at the local chapel).
While a few of the above chapelries and St Chad's parish burial registers do not currently have online indexed content, FamilySearch does have microfilm copies of the original Bishop's transcripts and/or parish registers for most of Rochdale's chapels of ease and churches. Some of these have been scanned and imaged and made available online. See FamilySearch's online catalog and type "Rochdale", then click "Church records", and click the little camera icon to view originals.
Non Conformist Records[edit | edit source]
- 1647-1996 England, Lancashire Non-conformist Church Records, 1647-1996 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
The Family History Library has an 1851 census surname index of Lancashire - Rochdale, Butterworth & Castleton subdistricts: Public Redords Office ref HO 107/2244. FHL British Book 942.72 X22c v 21 and on FHL British Microfiche 6414326
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
French, Jenny. Woodhead of Newbiggin (Northumberland) and Shawforth Valley. A Pedigree of the Woodheads dating from 1779-1975, withother surnames Jackson, Eastwood, Abramm, Halliwell, Downie, Hedley, French, Hardman, and Woodward, to be found in The Lancashire Family and Heraldry Soc. Magazine, vol. 11, no. 2, page 26-27, May 1990, Family History Library Ref. 942.72 B2r vol. 11.
Hornby, Michael J. K. Direct Descendants of James Hornby. Family Tree of James Hornby and Alice Mills - she was born in Rochdale, Lancashire, and their descendants which scatter throughout Lancashire, then to Ontario, Canada from about 1910, with the following surnames. Barlow, Harrison, Hargrave, Showell, Drovin, Burkett, Johnston, Family Tree dates from 1799-1995, and is in Lancashire Family and Heraldry Soc. Magazine, vol. 18, no.2. May 1997, FHL 942.72 B2r.
Dania, Vivien Mrs. The Danias of Rochdale. History and family tree of James Danias and Hannah surname unknown. with the following surnames listed on the tree: Holt, Sagar, Tweedale, Thomlinson, Smith, Wilson, Fitter, Thornton, Bamford, Meadowcroft, Bennet, Howorth, Lees dating from 1837-1982. Article in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. Magazine vol. 6,no.1. pages 18-20, FHL Ref. 942.72 B2r
Whatmough of Rochdale, Bacup, and Manchester. Family tree of Edmund Wattmoe of Packer died 1689, wife unknown, with the following surnames, Wattmough, Hollows, Bamfour, Cleggswood, Whatmough, Robinson, Whitworth, Beard, Shackleton, Worsley Smethurst, Worsley and Morley, dated 1689-1938 in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. Magazine vol. 5, no. 2. pages 18-19, FHL Ref 942.72 B2r
Poor Law Unions
[edit | edit source]
Rochdale Parish was the head of a poor law union.
Go to the Lancashire Probate Records and follow the step by step instructions to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction and search the records.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 679-686.