To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Robeson County, North Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Robeson County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Robeson County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Robeson County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1670
County Seat Lumberton
Courthouse
NorthCarolinaRobesonCourthouse.jpg
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Robeson Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Robeson County is located in the South-Central portion of North Carolina and shares a border with South Carolina. It was named for Revolutionary War Colonel Thomas Robeson[1].

Robeson County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1913 1787 1915 1920 1799 1868 1784
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1913. General compliance by 1920.


Robeson County Courthouse
500 N Elm Street P O Box 22
Lumberton, NC 28358
Phone: 919-671-3044

Register of Deeds has been recorded from 1913
marriage records from 1787
death records from 1915, brand land records from 1799, Clerk Superior Court has divorce, and court records from 1920 and probate records from 1868. [3]

Register of Deeds
500 N. Elm Street
Room 102
Lumberton, NC 28358
Phone: 910-671-3044
Fax: 910-671-3041
Website

Clerk Superior Court
P.O. Box 1084
Lumberton, NC 28358
Phone: (910) 272-5900

History[edit | edit source]

Many free African American families moved to Robeson County from Virginia in the 1700s.

Parent County[edit | edit source]

1787--Robeson County was created from Bladen County. County seat: Lumberton [4]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Many of the court records are missing.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NCGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NCGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
North Carolina Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

Census[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Baptist[edit | edit source]
  • Ash Pole. Organized 1796.[5]
  • First Baptist Church, Lumberton, N.C. [6]
  • Saddle Tree Creek. Constituted by 1788. [7] Lemuel Burkitt and Jesse Read, A Concise History of the Kehukee Baptist Association: From Its Original Rise Down to 1808 (1808), Chapter 16. Digital version at [8]
Presbyterian[edit | edit source]
  • [Book] [9] Enter into his gates history of the First Presbyterian Church, Maxton, North Carolina, 1878-1958. [10] - available online via the Eastern NC Digital Library
  • [Book][11] Year book and directory of the Rowland Presbyterian Church, Rowland, N.C - available online via the Eastern NC Digital Library

County Records[edit | edit source]

Court[edit | edit source]

Education[edit | edit source]

  • [12] Robeson County College Students; a name list of students at various NC colleges with identified hometowns in the county; via NCGenWeb Yearbook Index
  • [13] Flora McDonald College yearbooks - from 1921-1961; via the Internet Archive
  • [14] Students Yearbooks. Presbyterian Junior College yearbooks

- from the mid 1930s - 1960s; via the Internet Archive

  • [15] UNC-Pembroke yearbooks- from the 1940s to the 1980s; via the Internet Archive
  • Book - [16] Flora McDonald College - published by Ralph Walter Page in 1920.

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
Bibliography[edit | edit source]

Land[edit | edit source]

  • [17] Misc county deeds- transcriptions submitted to the NCGenWeb Archives.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps[edit | edit source]

Ncrobeson.png
  • [18]Maps of Robeson County - online map images via the NC Maps collection.

Military[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Robeson County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Robeson County, North Carolina Genealogy:

- 51st Regiment, North Carolina Militia Company F
- 12th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, 1st Company D
- 3rd Regiment, North Carolina Artillery, Company E
- 7th Battalion, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company C
- 8th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain Nathaniel McLean's Company
- 8th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain Neill McNeill's Company
World War I[edit | edit source]
World War II[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Probate[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Records

Taxation[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Uncertified copies of vital records can be ordered for a small fee from the Register of Deeds. Please visit the Durham County website for more information.

Birth Records[edit | edit source]
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
Death Records[edit | edit source]
Divorce Records[edit | edit source]

Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Southeastern North Carolina Genealogical Society
PO Box 468
Chadbourn, NC 28431-0468
website

Robeson County Historical and Genealogical Society
PO Box 2292
Lumberton NC 28359
Website

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/Robeson
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Robeson County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Robeson County, North Carolina. Page 512
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America 10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Lemuel Burkitt and Jesse Read, A Concise History of the Kehukee Baptist Association: From Its Original Rise Down to 1808 Chapter 16. Digital version atarchive.org "Ashpole Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, accessed 22 October 2012.
  6. First Baptist Church, Lumberton, North Carolina; one hundred years of Christian witnessing, 1855-1955 available online via the Eastern NC Digital Library
  7. George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:491.
  8. archive.org
  9. digital.lib.ecu.
  10. ncmarkers.com
  11. digital.lib.ecu.
  12. ncgenweb-data.com
  13. archive.org
  14. archive.org
  15. archive.org
  16. digital.lib.ecu
  17. usgwarchives.net
  18. dc.lib.unc.edu