Roane County, West Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
West Virginia
Roane County

Guide to Roane County, West Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Spencer
Organized: March 11, 1856
Parent County(s): Kanawha, Jackson, Gilmer[1]
Neighboring Counties
Calhoun  • Clay  • Jackson  • Kanawha  • Wirt
See County Maps
Courthouse
Roane County Courthouse in Spencer, West Virginia.jpg
Location Map
Wv-roane.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Spencer Roane. The County has Spencer as its seat and the County was created March 11, 1856. The County is located in the west central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Roane County Courthouse
200 Main Street
Spencer, WV 25760-1497
Phone: 304-927-2860
Roane County Website

County Clerk has birth, marriage, death, probate, and land records from 1856.

Roane County, West Virginia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1856 1856 1856 1856 1856 1856 1870
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1917. General compliance by 1925.

Record Loss

Both the courthouse built in 1856 and its replacement built in 1887 burned, but many records survived. Dates of fires undetermined.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Roane County, West Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See West Virginia Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1860 5,381
1870 7,232 34.4%
1880 12,184 68.5%
1890 15,303 25.6%
1900 19,852 29.7%
1910 21,543 8.5%
1920 20,129 −6.6%
1930 19,478 −3.2%
1940 20,787 6.7%
1950 18,408 −11.4%
1960 15,720 −14.6%
1970 14,111 −10.2%
1980 15,952 13.0%
1990 15,120 −5.2%
2000 15,446 2.2%
2010 14,926 −3.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Roane census records online, see: West Virginia Census.

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • Ashley - Ross, Clara Mae. John Thomas Ashley (1838-1923), His Ancestors of Surry County, North Carolina, His Descendants of Roane County, West Virginia, and Related Families. Colfax, N.C., n.d. FHL Collection.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See West Virginia Land and Property for additional information about early West Virginia land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Roane County, West Virginia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section West Virginia Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Wirt CountyCalhoun CountyClay CountyKanawha CountyJackson CountyWV ROANE.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Roane served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Roane County:

- 3rd Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company G.
- 14th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company N (Night Hawk Rangers).[6]
- 19th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company C.[7]
- 30th Battalion, Virginia Sharpshooters (Clarke's) (Confederate). Company F.[8]
- 36th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (2nd Kanawha Infantry) (Confederate). Company B (Logan County Wildcats), Company C (Chapmanville Riflemen), Company D (Boone Rangers), Company E (Raleigh Rangers), and Company G (Western Riflemen).[9]
- 60th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (3rd Regiment, Wise Legion) (Confederate). Company G (The Roane Rangers).[10]

Records and histories are available, including:

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Roane County Historical Society
    P O Box 161
    Spencer, WV 25276
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Roane County, West Virginia" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roane_County,_West_Virginia."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Roane County, West Virginia. Page 743-746 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 742-743.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Roane County, West Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roane_County,_West_Virginia, accessed 7 September 2018.
  6. Robert J. Driver, 14th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 47.
  7. Richard L. Armstrong, 19th and 20th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 101.
  8. Michael West, 30th Battalion Virginia Sharpshooters (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1995). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 108.
  9. J.L. Scott, 36th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 36.
  10. J.L. Scott, 60th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL book 975.5 M2vr v. 130.