Riverton FamilySearch Library Outreach Class Schedule

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

l

Riverton FamilySearch
Library Menu

3740 West Market Center Drive
(13175 South)

Riverton, Utah 84065-8026
801-240-9601


OPEN
Monday and Friday
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday
9:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Saturday
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Closed on Sunday


Home
Location and Directions
Contact Information and Lost & Found
Hours and Holiday Schedule
Classes and Class Schedules
Quick Start Guides and Class Handouts
Group Visits
Saturday Seminar
Family Discovery Day
Family Reunions * NEW *
Youth Conference
Family Story Room
Boy Scout Workshop
Outreach Class Schedule
Microfilm
Resources * New Items Available *
Research Specialists
Missionary Opportunities

RFSL Handouts Page.jpg

Contents

Do You Need Help with Family History Training at your location?

If you would like a specific family history topic or subject matter taught at your location, the Outreach Training Team can customize family history training on a wide variety of topics for your location. For additional Outreach class information call 801-571-6954.

September-December 2016 Class Schedule:

September 4th, 6:00 pm -- Taylorsville Stake Center - David & Marie Torres Family Reunion (Class Completed)

Family History Topic - Beginning FamilySearch/Family Tree. Navigating, Merging records, Find a Record and Google language translation.

September 7th, Wednesday 12:30-1:30 pm -- Murray Heritage Center - Class Closed (full)

Topic: Searching Family History records, sharing and collaborating with others.

Students will learn how to search FamilySearch, Family Tree, Ancestry.com, Google, Wiki, Books, Catalogs & Microfilms. Collaborate with others using email, FamilySearch messaging and feedback forms.

September 12th, Monday 12:30-1:30 pm -- Murray Heritage Center- Class Closed (full)

Topic: Sourcing and using External Research Tools..

Students will learn how to link sources to family records in Family Tree. They will learn about external research tools such as Visual Pedigree, Source Linker, Find a Record, My Source Box, Tree Connect. They will learn about and use Family Tree and Memory apps. Students will learn to manipulate photos using the Snipping Tool and IrfanView.

September 14th, Wednesday 12:30-1:30 pm -- Murray Heritage Center- Class Closed (full)

Topic: Genealogy Toolbox and Google Research Tools, techniques and strategies.

Students will learn about internet search engines, newspapers, RecordSeek, RootsMapper, Puzzilla, TreeSeek, Relative Finder, and an extensive review of Google research and find tools.

September 21st, Wednesday 7:00-8:30 pm -- Riverton County Library, 12877 South 1830 West  Riverton, UT (Walk-in Class)

**Laptop computers are available for check out at the library for this class.

Topic: Beginning FamilySearch & Family Tree.

Students will learn how to Navigate FamilySearch and Family Tree, add & edit records, perform basic research & attach sources.

September 22nd, Thursday 7:00-8:30 pm -- Riverton County Library, 12877 South 1830 West  Riverton, UT (Walk-in Class)

**Laptop computers are available for check out at the library for this class.

Topic: Intermediate FamilySearch & Family Tree.

Students will learn how to use FamilySearch Helps, search family history sites, perform advanced Searching, learn Memory functions & attach sources.

October 19th, Wednesday 7:00-8:30 pm -- Riverton County Library,12877 South 1830 West  Riverton, UT (Walk-in Class)

**Laptop computers are available for check out at the library for this class.

Topic: Beginning FamilySearch & Family Tree.

Students will learn how to Navigate FamilySearch and Family Tree, add & edit records, perform basic research & attach sources.

October 20th, Thursday 7:00-8:30 pm -- Riverton County Library,12877 South 1830 West  Riverton, UT (Walk-in Class)

**Laptop computers are available for check out at the library for this class.

Topic: Intermediate FamilySearch & Family Tree.

Students will learn how to use FamilySearch Helps, search family history sites, perform advanced Searching, learn Memory functions & attach sources.

November 3rd, Thursday 7:00-8:30 pm -- Draper County Library, 1136 East Pioneer Rd (12400 South) Draper, UT (Walk-in Class)

**Students will need to provide their own laptop, iPad, iPod, etc computers and connect to the local library WIFI.

Topic: Beginning FamilySearch & Family Tree.

FamilySearch and Family Tree is an online family history research site containing billions of family records, and it is free to the public.  This class would help patrons establish new online accounts and help patrons learn and navigate many of the features contained in this website.  In addition, patrons will learn how to create family records and start their personal pedigree. 

November 10th, Thursday 7:00-8:30 pm -- Draper County Library, 1136 East Pioneer Rd (12400 South) Draper, UT (Walk-in Class)

**Students will need to provide their own laptop, iPad, iPod, etc computers and connect to the local library WIFI.

Topic: Search family records in FamilySearch & Family Tree.

FamilySearch has billions of records in its database.  Patrons will learn to search and research family records from all over the world. Patrons will learn how to review and attach sources (birth, marriage, death, census records, etc.) to family records.  Patrons will learn how to manage their family records in FamilyTree by using edit, add, delete, merge, etc. strategies. 

November 17th, Thursday 7:00-8:30 pm -- Draper County Library, 1136 East Pioneer Rd (12400 South) Draper, UT (Walk-in Class)

**Students will need to provide their own laptop, iPad, iPod, etc computers and connect to the local library WIFI.

Topic: Research family records online using FamilySearch WIKI, Ancestry.com, Google, newspapers, etc.

Billions of family records are available online with millions being added each day.  Patrons will learn to research family records online in a wide variety of web sites.  Students will learn how to attach online sources to their family records in Family Tree. 

December 1st, Thursday 7:00-8:30 pm -- Draper County Library, 1136 East Pioneer Rd (12400 South) Draper, UT (Walk-in Class)

**Students will need to provide their own laptop, iPad, iPod, etc computers and connect to the local library WIFI.

Topic: Creating family memories and stories in Family Tree.

Photos, stories, audio and video media is used to create stories around family members.  Patrons will learn to capture and create photos using the windows Snipping Tool (Grabber tool in Apple) and then upload to Family Tree.  Patrons will learn how to manipulate photos using the IrfanView tool.  Patrons will learn how to create and save PDF files in word documents and then upload to Family Tree.  Patrons will learn how to make audio and video records of family members and then upload to family search. Patrons will learn how to upload group photos, tag individual faces and attache them to family tree records.

December 8th, Thursday 7:00-8:30 pm -- Draper County Library, 1136 East Pioneer Rd (12400 South) Draper, UT (Walk-in Class)

**Students will need to provide their own laptop, iPad, iPod, etc computers and connect to the local library WIFI.

Topic: Genealogy ToolBox and Google Search Tools.

The Internet makes available many genealogy research tools that help find and correct family records.  Google has many tools that aid in family history research. Patrons will learn to find and use these valuable tools that will help them in their research.  These genealogical tools will help patrons translate foreign records from and to any language.  Patrons will learn how to effectively search valuable family records that have been roadblocks for many years, learn how to create Google alerts, and learn how to research names, places and events faster and more effective. 

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

If You Need Help with Family History Training at your location, and would like more information with Outreach class information call 801-571-6954.

If you would like a specific family history topic or subject matter taught at your location, the Outreach Training Team can customize family history training on a wide variety of topics for your location.