Riverton FamilySearch Library/Class Schedule

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

“Basic Computer Skills” Bring a Flash Drive


Riverton FamilySearch
Library Menu

3740 West Market Center Drive
(13175 South)

Riverton, Utah 84065-8026
801-240-9601


OPEN
Monday and Friday
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday
9:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.
Saturday
10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Closed on Sunday


Home
Location and Directions
Contact Information and Lost and Found
Hours and Holiday Schedule
Classes and Class Schedules
Quick Start Guides and Class Handouts
Group Visits
Saturday Seminar
Family Discovery Day
Family Reunions
Youth Conference
Family Story Room
Boy Scout Workshop
Outreach Class Schedule
Microfilm
Resources * New Items Available *
Research Specialists
Missionary Opportunities

RFSL Handouts Page.jpg


Printable December Calendar -  Printable January Calendar

There will be no classes held in December. Please see the calendar for more details.

To print or download the schedule use the Google file menu in the upper left hand corner of the document, not the browser's file menu.

For daily class information call 801-240-9601.

Do You Need Help with Family Tree?

If you would like specific help on any of the basic features of Family Tree, ask at the Welcome Desk or Help Desk for a staff member to help you.

Additional Webinars and Classes at the Family History Library

Check out the Free Family History Library Webinars and Classes available in July 2017 at the Family History Library in downtown Salt Lake City by clicking here.

Walk-in Classes

FamilySearch Family Tree

These classes teach the basic fundamentals of using Family Tree features at FamilySearch.org.

Lecture and Hands-on Practice - Presented by Linda Baker - No registration necessary.

  • 3:00 - 4:30 p.m. Mondays - Library Training Room 1

Jan 7: FamilySearch- Family Tree Week 1 “Accessing and Navigating FamilySearch Family Tree”

Jan 14: FamilySearch-Family Tree Week 2 “Finding, Adding and Correcting Information”

Jan 21: Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - No Class

Jan 28: FamilySearch- Family Tree Week 3 “Using ‘My Source Box’ and FamilySearch.org Sources”

  • 7:00 - 8:30 p.m. Wednesdays - Library Training Room 1

Jan 2: FamilySearch – Family Tree Week 1 “Accessing and Navigating FamilySearch Family Tree”      

Jan 9: FamilySearch – Family Tree Week 2: “Finding, Adding and Correcting Information”

Jan 16: FamilySearch – Family Tree Week 3 “Using ‘My Source Box’ and FamilySearch.org Sources”

Jan 23: FamilySearch – Family Tree Week 4 “Creating and Attaching Outside Sources”

Jan 30: FamilySearch – Family Tree Week 5 “Preparing Names for Temple Ordinances”

FamilySearch Family Tree in Spanish

These classes teach the basic fundamentals of using Family Tree features at FamilySearch.org in Spanish.

Lecture and Hands-on-Practice - Presented by Stan Radford - No registration necessary.

  • 7:00 - 8:30 p.m. Thursdays - Training Room 2, taught on the 2nd and 4th Thursdays.

Jan 10: FamilySearch - Family Tree in Spanish

Jan 24: FamilySearch - Family Tree in Spanish

  • 1:00 - 2:30 p. m. 2nd Saturday - Hermano Romay - Training Room 1

Nov 12: FamilySearch - Family Tree in Spanish

FamilySearch Wiki

A look into the Wiki and how it increases opportunities to find family information. The class includes explanations and practical exercises to help you understand and exploit the benefits of this little-used tool in your FamilySearch toolkit.

Lecture and Lab – No Registration Necessary - Presented by Lee Tripp

  • 1:30 – 3:00 p.m. / 2nd, 3rd and 4th Tuesdays – Library Training Room 1

Jan 8: FamilySearch Wiki – “Why Wiki Works, Week 1”

Jan 15: FamilySearch Wiki – “Why Wiki Works, Week 2”

Jan 22: FamilySearch Wiki – “Why Wiki Works, Week 3”

  • 10:00 – 11:30 a.m. / 2nd, 3rd and 4th Wednesdays – Library Training Room 1

Jan 9: FamilySearch Wiki – “Why Wiki Works, Week 1”

Jan 16: FamilySearch Wiki – “Why Wiki Works, Week 2”

Jan 23: FamilySearch Wiki – “Why Wiki Works, Week 3”

How to Create a Personalized Discovery Experience

This Class is inspired by recent instruction on how to help others become involved in family history through personalized, one-on-one spirit-led experiences. The class discusses what makes an effective personalized discovery experience and different goals that can be approached in these experiences. Temple and Family History Consultants at any level will also learn sources for futher instruction and skill development. After the initial class, participants can sign up for their own personalized discovery experience prepared from their tree and presented at a later date. Mentoring can also be arranged for guidance in helping those they serve. No Registration Necessary.

  • Jan 8th and Jan 22th: Tuesday 7:00-8:30 p. m. - Library Training Room 1 - Marilyn Boekweg
  • Jan 2nd and Jan 16th: Friday 10:00-11:30 a. m. - Library Training Room 1 - Tina Whitney

Basic Computer Skills

This class teaches basic computer skills with hands-on practice. Please bring a flash drive to get the most from this class.

Lecture and Lab - Presented by Kenneth Spencer - No registration is necessary.

  • 9:30-11:00 a. m. Monday - Library Training Room 2 - Kenneth Spencer 

Jan 7: “Basic Computer Skills” Bring a Flash Drive

Jan 14: “Basic Computer Skills” Bring a Flash Drive - Canceled

Jan 21: Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - No Class

Jan 28: “Basic Computer Skills” Bring a Flash Drive

Basic Graphic Skills

This class teaches basic graphic skills using IrfanView with hands-on practice. Basic computer skills are necessary. Please bring a flash drive to get the most from this class.

Lecture and Lab - Presented by Kenneth Spencer - No registration is necessary.

  • 9:30-11:00 a. m. Tuesday - Library Training Room 2 - Kenneth Spencer

Jan 1: No Classes - Holiday

Jan 8: “Basic Graphic Skills” Bring a Flash Drive - Canceled

Jan 15: “Basic Graphic Skills” Bring a Flash Drive

Jan 22: “Basic Graphic Skills” Bring a Flash Drive

Jan 29: “Basic Graphic Skills” Bring a Flash Drive

Genealogy Toolbox and Google Search Tools

This is a one-week course designed to showcase various tools to complete genealogical research.  Learn tools used in research and family history recording, including successful Google searches.  Basic computer skills are necessary.

Lecture and Lab - Presented by Glen Sisam - No registration is necessary.

  • 1:00 - 2:30 p.m.  1st and 3rd Thursdays - Library Training Room 1

This class is temporarily unavailable.

Web indexing Class and Lab

The Basic Web Indexing Skill class teaches basic indexing skills.

Training integrated with Hands-on Practice - Presented by Kent Ahlstrom - No registration necessary.

  • 7:00 - 8:30 p.m.  Thursdays, 1st and 3rd - Training Room 2

Jan 3: “Web Indexing Class and Lab”

Jan 17: “Web Indexing Class and Lab”

Beginning Genealogy Research

This series of classes teaches how to be effective with genealogy research. Students will learn about a research process, genealogy record types, several record search techniques, and a variety of genealogy web sites.

Lecture and Lab - Presented by Larry Whittaker - No registration is necessary.

  • 9:30 - 11:00 a.m.  Mondays - Library Training Room 1       

Jan 7: Beginning Genealogy Research Week 1 “Introduction to Genealogy”

Jan 14: Beginning Genealogy Research Week 2 “People, Records, and Tips”

Jan 21: Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - No Class

Jan 28: Beginning Genealogy Research Week 3 “Effective Search Strategies”

Beginning British Research

This series of three classes focuses on beginning research in England; the class covers various types of family history records in England, how to access them, and how to interpret them in order to extend or expand the family tree.  The class provides an overview of research strategies and focuses on British census records, civil registration records, and parish or church records.

Lecture and Lab - Presented by Lauren Leifson - No registration is necessary.

  • 1:30 - 3:00 p.m. Mondays - Library Training Room 2     

This class is temporarily unavailable.

Danish Research

These classes define types of records used in Danish research that give names, dates, places, and relationships of your ancestors. Learn where to find these records online on your own home computer. Instructions are given on how to extract and interpret the information found in these various records about your ancestors and how it can be used to extend your family lines.

Lecture and Lab – No Registration Necessary - Presented by Linda Baker

  • 10:00 – 11:30 p.m. Fridays – Library Training Room 1   

Jan 4: Danish Research Week 1 “The #1 Go-To: Danish Church Records and Where To Find Them”

Jan 18: Danish Research Week 2 “Using Danish Census Records to Prove Relationships”

Finding Cousins Workshop

This three week course teaches how to quickly find missing people in your family lines as well as helping others on their family trees. Varying topics provide helpful information for finding family names, analyzing your FamilySearch Family Tree while performing descendancy research. Everyone has thousands of cousins to find. Helpful resources are also presented. We use your lines to work on.

Lecture and Lab Course - Presented by Ron Ray - No registration necessary.

  • 3:30 - 5:00 p.m. Wednesday- Training Room 2

January      16:  Week 1: Finding Cousins Workshop: Three Great Tools- Virtual Pedigree, Ancestry, FamilySearch  

January      23:  Week 2:  Finding Cousins Workshop:  Plus Research Tips

January      30:  Week 2:  Finding Cousins Workshop:  Plus Research Tips

Ancestry.com Trees, Sources, and Sharing with FamilySearch

This two week course shows how to set up and use your own tree in Ancestry.com including attaching sources, pictures, and stories. It also shows how to copy people’s information and sources to and from FamilySearch using Anccestry.com.

Lecture and Lab Course - Presented by Ron Ray - No registration necessary.

  • January Wednesday Series: 3:30 - 5:00 p.m. - Training Room 2

January      2:  Week 1:  Learning how to create and use Ancestry.com Trees

January      9:  Week 2:  Using Ancestry Sources and Sharing with FamilySearch

Ancestry.com Fundamentals

This four-week class is designed for all levels of family history users to integrate Ancestry.com into Family Tree.  Using the new Ancestry tools, you will learn how to transfer data and sources between Ancestry and FamilySearch and learn the advantages of an active tree in Ancestry.  You will also learn how to use all the tools within the Ancestry program to augment FamilySearch.  Basic computer skills are helpful.

Lecture and demonstration - Presented by Ron Reagan - no registration necessary.

  • 10:00 - 11:30 p.m. Thursday Series - Library Training Room 1

Jan 3: “Ancestry.com Fundamentals” Come with an Ancestry.com Account and Know How to Log In

Jan 10: “Ancestry.com Fundamentals” Come with an Ancestry.com Account and Know How to Log In

Jan 17: “Ancestry.com Fundamentals” Come with an Ancestry.com Account and Know How to Log In

Jan 24: “Ancestry.com Fundamentals” Come with an Ancestry.com Account and Know How to Log In

Jan 31: “Ancestry.com Fundamentals” Come with an Ancestry.com Account and Know How to Log In

Ancestral Quest

This is an eight-week course designed for current and new users of Ancestral Quest. Ancestral Quest is approved FamilySearch affiliate software, and evolved from the same base program as Personal Ancestral File (PAF).

The class teaches the features and functions of the program and gives students hands-on practice with the software. Basic computer skills are necessary.

Lecture and Lab - Presented by Bud Wood

  • 10:00 - 11:30 a.m. Tuesday Series - Library Training Room 1 

This class is temporarily unavailable.

  • 1:30 - 3:00 p.m. Wednesday Series - Library Training Room 1 

This class is temporarily unavailable.

RootsMagic

This four week course teaches the basic features and capabilities of the RootsMagic family tree software, RootsMagic is approved FamilySearch affiliate software, and we provide hands-on computer experience. Basic computer skills are necessary. Some experience with RootsMagic is helpful.

Lecture and Lab Course - Presented by Ron Ray - No registration necessary.

  • 7:00 - 8:30 p.m. Tuesday - Library Training Room 2

January        8:  Week 1:  RootsMagic- Basic Keys and Sharing Tree and Sources with Family Tree

January      15:  Week 2: RootsMagic- Attaching Images, Videos, PDF or any files

January      22:  Week 3: RootsMagic- Creating, Sharing Sources with FamilySearch

January      29:  Week 4: RootsMagic- Sharing Trees and Sources with Ancestry.com, Great Tools, Reports

MyHeritage

This three week course teaches the basic features and capabilities of My Heritage. Learn to create your family tree with this online genealogy platform that is an approved FamilySearch affiliate software. We provide hands-on computer experience. Basic computer skills are necessary.

Lecture and Lab Course - Presented by Don Barney - No registration is necessary.

  • 2:00 - 3:30 p.m. Thursday Series - Library Training Room 2

Jan 3: MyHeritage – “Family Tree”

Jan 10: MyHeritage – “Discoveries, Photos, and Research”

Jan 17: MyHeritage – “Introduction to My Heritage”

Jan 24: MyHeritage – “Family Tree”

Jan 31: MyHeritage – “Discoveries, Photos, and Research”


Maintained by: Sister Megan Britton

Last modified: 12/3/2018