To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Riverside County, California Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Riverside County, California ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Riverside County, California
Map
Map of California highlighting Riverside County
Location in the state of California
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 11, 1893
County Seat Riverside
Courthouse
CaliforniaRiversideCourthouse.jpg
Address Riverside County Courthouse
4080 Lemon St
1 st Floor
PO Box 12004
Riverside, CA 92502
Phone: 909.486.7000

Riverside County Website


County Information[edit | edit source]

Riverside County, California Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[1]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1893 1893 1893 1893 1893 1893 1850
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1905. General compliance by 1920.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

County Clerk Recorder has birth, marriage, death and land records from 1893[2]

Historical Facts[edit | edit source]

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Riverside County, California

Parent Counties[edit | edit source]

11 March 1893: Riverside County was created from San Bernardino and San Diego Counties. County seat: Riverside [3]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named from the City of Riverside, christened when the upper canal of the Santa Ana River reached it in 1871. The county seat Riverside and the county was created 1893.[4] The County is located in the southeast area of the state. [5]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities[edit | edit source]

Cities[edit | edit source]

Banning | Beaumont | Blythe | Calimesa | Canyon Lake | Cathedral City | Coachella | Corona | Desert Hot Springs | Eastvale | Hemet | Indian Wells | Indio | Jurupa Valley | La Quinta | Lake Elsinore | Menifee | Moreno Valley | Murrieta | Norco | Palm Desert | Palm Springs | Perris | Rancho Mirage | Riverside | San Jacinto | Temecula | Wildomar

Unincorporated Locations[edit | edit source]

Aguanga | Alberhill | Anza | Belltown | Bermuda Dunes | Cabazon | Cherry Valley | Chiriaco Summit | Coronita | Crestmore Heights | Desert Beach | Desert Center | Desert Edge | Desert Palms | East Blythe | Eagle Mountain | Eagle Valley | East Hemet | El Cerrito | El Sobrante | French Valley | Garnet | Good Hope | Green Acres | Highgrove | Home Gardens | Homeland | Idyllwild | Indio Hills | Lake Mathews | Lake Riverside | Lake Tamarisk | Lakeland Village | Lakeview | Lost Lake | March ARB | Mead Valley | Meadowbrook | Mecca | Mesa Verde | Mountain Center | North Shore | Nuevo | Oasis | Pine Cove | Pinyon Pines | Rancho Capistrano | Ripley | Romoland | Sage | Sky Valley | Temescal Valley | Thermal | Thousand Palms | Valle Vista | Vista Santa Rosa | Warm Springs | Whitewater | Winchester | Woodcrest |

Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biography[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Riverside, California online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See California Cemeteries for more information

The following web sites may have additional information on Riverside County cemeteries.

Census[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Riverside County, California Genealogy census records online, see: California Census.

Church History and Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.

Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Arlington
  • Blythe
  • Elsinore
  • Hemet
  • Indio
  • Palm Springs
  • Riverside

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Crime and Criminals[edit | edit source]

Aerial view Coachella Valley California.jpg

Directories[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Germans[edit | edit source]

Archives, Libraries, and Museums
Biographies
Church Records
Cemetery Records
Court Records
Histories
Immigration/emigration/migration
Maps
Newspapers
Societies

Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

History[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Riverside County, California Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Maps[edit | edit source]

San Bernardino CountyOrange CountySan Diego CountyImperial CountyLa Paz CountyCA RIVERSIDE.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military History and Records[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Riverside County, California Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Riverside - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

Repositories[edit | edit source]

Archives, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]


Corona Public Library
650 S. Main Street
Corona, California 98992-3417
951-736-2386

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Riverside Hall of Justice
4100 Main Street, Riverside, Ca. 92501

Riverside Historic Courthouse

4050 Main Street, Riverside, Ca. 92501


Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Historical Society Indio California.jpg

Societies[edit | edit source]

Corona Genealogical Society
Meets in the Corona Public Library


Hemet-San Jacinto Genealogical Society, Inc
P. O. Box 2516
Hemet, California 92546-2516
951-765-2372


Genealogical Society of Riverside

 P. O. Box 2557
 Riverside, CA 92516-2557

 email:  gsor@gsor.org

Taxation[edit | edit source]

California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records

Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]

Voting Registers[edit | edit source]

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries[edit | edit source]

Riverside County Historical Commission
P.O. Box 3507
Riverside 92519

Riverside Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 2557
Riverside 92516

Coachella Valley Genealogical Society
PO Box 124
Indio, CA 92202

Colorado River-Blythe Quartsite Genealogical Society
PO Box 404
Blythe, CA 92226

Corona Genealogical Society
650 S. Main Street
Corona, CA 92882-3417
Website

Desert Hot Springs Historical Society
PO Box 1267
Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240

Genealogical Society of Riverside
PO Box 2557
Riverside, CA 92156-2557
Website

Hemet-San Jacinto Genealogical Society
PO Box 2516
Hemet, CA 92343

Lake Elsinore Genealogical Society
PO Box 807
Lake Elsinore, CA 92330
Website

Palm Springs Genealogical Society
PO Box 2093
Palm Springs, CA 92263
Website

Palm Springs Historical Society
PO Box 1498
Palm Springs, CA 92263

Pioneer Historical Society of Riverside
PO Box 246
Riverside, CA 92502

Society Middletown First Settlers Descendants(1650-1700)
81641 Ave. 48, Space 89
Indio, CA 92201-6723

Temecula Valley Genealogical Society
27475 Ynez Road, Ste. 291
Temecula,CA 92591
Website

Temecula Valley Historical Society
PO Box 157
Temecula, CA 92593

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Riverside County, California. Page 84-88 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 81-83.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Riverside County, California. Page 86 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Riverside County, California Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/cal/riverside/ 05/05/2017.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Riverside County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Riverside_County,_California 05/05/2017.