To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Rivera, Uruguay Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Uruguay Wiki Topics
Flag of Uruguay.svg.pgn.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Uruguay Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Rivera Department ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}} Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

History[edit | edit source]

  • To consolidate the border with Brazil and curb its influence, on May 7, 1862, the Uruguayan government created the city of Ceballos.
  • The department of Rivera was created on October 1, 1884, annexing land from the department of Tacuarembó.
  • The department of Rivera has a population of approximately 104,000 people. [1]

Municipalities[edit | edit source]

TranquerasMinas de CorralesVichaderoRivera Department Map.png

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Parish Records[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • There are no records for the Rivera department.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

  • Cementerio central de Rivera
  • Cementerio Lagunón
  • Cementerio Parque Memorial Homero Pereira

Localities[edit | edit source]

  • Amarillo
  • Arroyo Blanco
  • Cerrillada
  • Cerros de la Calera
  • Cerro Pelado
  • Lagos del Norte
  • La Puente
  • Las Flores
  • Masoller
  • Moirones
  • Paso Ataques
  • Paso Hospital
  • Rivera

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia Collaborators, "Departamento de Rivera," in Wikipedia: The free encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Departamento_de_Rivera. Visited September 17, 2018.