Risley, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Risley, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Risley All Saints
|Hundred||Morlestone and Litchurch|
|Poor Law Union||Shardlow|
|Parish registers: 1719|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1696|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of Sawley|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Risley is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, created in 1719 from chapelry in Wilne with Draycott, Derbyshire chapelry in Sawley, Derbyshire Ancient Parish. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Risley registration tranferred to the Ilkeston registration district on 1 April 1938.
Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).
Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Risley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Risley All Saints (1719) Parish Online Records|
Risley All Saints
Derbyshire Record Office reference D 2411 has deposited registers Bap 1719-1993 Mar 1720-1993 Burials 1720-1993 Banns 1823-1974
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1696-1857 Mar 1696-1837 Burials 1696-1857 Missing Bap/Bur 1838
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Risley on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 676-679. Date accessed: 27 May 2013.