Riska (Riskekvernen) Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Riska, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records
|Riska (Riskekvernen) Parish|
|Amt 1689-1919||1662-1682: Stavanger stiftamt, |
1682-1919: Stavanger amt
|Fogderi||Jæderen og Dalene|
Church Books[edit | edit source]
Contain priest and sexton records from the parishes Hetland (Frue), Riska (Riskekverven) and Randaberg (Randeberg). They were separated from the combined Stavanger clerical district in 1849. Earlier church records are in the Cathedral church parish (Domkirken) in Stavanger city. Riskekverven (Riska) was separated from Frue and became its own parish in 1877.
Transcripts of church records of christenings 1688-1815 and births 1816-1839 for Stavanger including Hetland and Randaberg. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarket.
Census Records[edit | edit source]
This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.
- 1701 Census - Manntall 1701 Microfilm
The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. May also include the residence of a male servant if he came from a different clerical district.
Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt Database
The 1801 census (b. 38) for Hetland clerical district includes Hetland, Frue, and Randaberg (Randeberg) parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.
1801-telling for Stavanger Database
This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, age, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.
1865-telling for Stavanger Database
This 1875 census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information
This census contains the persons name, sex, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.
1900-telling for Stavanger Database
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Land Records[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Availability[edit | edit source]
Farm Book[edit | edit source]
Farm histories of Riska, Rogaland co., Norway with vital information on residents of the farms. Smith, Eivind, "Riska: gardar og tettstad," Sandnes: Sandnes Kommune, c1993. 948.31/R3 D2s FHL INTL Book
"Index to: Riska : gardar og tettstad" Stavanger, Norway: Rogaland Historie og Ættesogelag, 1996. 948.31/R3 D2s index FHL INTL Book
A history of the farms Laurvåsen and Eltervåg in Riska, Rogaland, Norway. Includes some genealogy. "Våre røtter i Lauvåsvågen - Lauvås - Eltervåg : et lokal- og slektshistorisk verk fra nordre del av Riska", Flekkefjord : S. Bern. Hegland A/S, 1983. 948.31/R3 H2v FHL INTL Book
Farm Names[edit | edit source]
39 Bjelland, 37 Bjørkeli
34 Flaaden, 38 Frøiland
34 Galtevigen, 43 Graven
33 Hammeren, 36 Hetland, 41 Hogstad nordre, 37 Hommersaag, 42 Hovland
35 Mauland, 40 Mæland
43 Skjørestad, 33 Slaattebakken, 45 Slaatten
Riska: Gardar og tettstad:
Bjelland: Kalvakheiå, Merland,
Dale: Egrå, Hodl
Eltarvåg: Danmark, Galtavigjå, Hodl, Maudland, Myrå (Stemmen), Naustervigjå, Rese, Slettå, Teistholmane- Stølsvigjå, Tingholmen, Vier,
Frøland: Auglend, Foren, Gjertrudstykkjet, Høvringstykkjet, Ljøde, Raskastykjet, Rudlå, Teinebekkholå, Vodl,
Garden: Aslakstykkjet, Gaulekstykkjet, Grytvigjå, Heiå, Kyrkjevodl, Li,
Hetland: Danegrå, Der borte, Der ude, Heiå, Maraholå, Røyrmyr,
Hogstad: Bergjurå, Gitleplasset, Gjerdeheiå, Heiå, Lunden (Lo'en"), Olaplasset, Steinane, Tomsagarden, Vestergård,
Hommarsåk: Andreasgarden, Breivigjå, Bygnå, Hagjen(Gonelhagjen), Kjeisargarden, Klokkarjordå, Leite (ObbSletten), Tjødnamyrå, Ullsnes, Vågjen, Øykhagjen,
Jødestad: Pergarden, Ribbå, Finnavodl, Olagarden,
Lauås: Eikebergheiå, Hammaren, Holland, Kjelaparten, Lauvåsvågen, Longebakkjen, Longebakkjen, Olaparten, Peraparten, Slåttebakkjen,
Riska: Der sør, Egrå (Hedlevodl), Eskjemyrå, Luffene, Nere sine, Skjøerstadstykkjet (Øvregård), Slåttå, Storåkeren, Vodl,
Skjørestad: Bakkjen, Der sør, Der nord, Bakkjen, Hagjen,
Uskjo: Der Nord, Hallvarsbruket, Hallvarsbruket, Maglastykkje, Sørvik,
References[edit | edit source]
Smith, Eivind: Riska Gardar og Tettstad. Utgeve av Sandnes kommune 1993.