Ringstead, Norfolk Genealogy
Guide to Ringstead, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Docking|
|Parish registers: 1575|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1691|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk|
|Location of Archive|
|Norfolk Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
RINGSTEAD, GREAT, a parish, in the union of Docking, hundred of Smithdon, W. division of Norfolk, 16 miles (N. N. E.) from Lynn. The church of St. Peter was pulled down in 1771.
RINGSTEAD, LITTLE (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Docking, hundred of Smithdon, W. division of Norfolk, 14½ miles (N. N. E.) from Lynn. The church has been demolished. 
Ringstead had two churches, Ringstead St Andrew is the survivor and the ruined neighbor was demolished in 1792.
Ringstead St Andrew (Great Ringstead) is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Norwich.
The church is a 14th century church with substantial additions in the 19th century.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages, and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Civil registration District
Church records[edit | edit source]
Ringstead, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free|
|FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free|
|Ringstead, Norfolk Genealogy Online Parish Records|
There were 2 parishes in Great Ringstead until 1771, St. Andrew's and St. Peter's. In 1771 they were united, and St. Andrew's became the parish church.
This parish's registers do not appear at FamilySearch Historical Records as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:
|Baptisms 1725-1812 Marriages 1725-1811 Burials 1726-1812
||FHL BRITISH Film |
1526810 Item 6
Census records[edit | edit source]
Poor Law Unions
[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 668-671. Date accessed: 13 May 2013.
- 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 25 February 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
- 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.