To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Rindal Parish, Møre og Romsdal, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Rindal, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Rindal Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Trondheim
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1919: Romsdal
Fylke 1919-Present 1919-1935: Romsdal, 1935-: Møre og Romsdal
Region add here
Prestegjeld Rindalen
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Rindalen
Fogderi Nordmør
Sorenskriveri Nordmør
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Rindal clerical district contains parish registers from Rindal parish with Øvre Rindal chapel. It was separated from Surnadal clerical district in 1857. For earlier records see Surnadal clerical district. The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1858-1937.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Rindal: 1858-1944

Surnadal: 1750-1884

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1664-1666 clerical census see Surnadal clerical district.
  • 1875: Folketellingen for kongeriget Norge den 31te december 1875. The 1875 census for Rindal is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

Farm numbers and names listed in Rygg's Norweigan Farm Names about 1900 are as follows:

69 Almberg 21 Alshogden 53 Asphaugen 72 Aunbakken 71 Aune

38 Baardshaugen 29 Bakken 63 Bjørnaasen 4 Bjørneraaen 65 Bjørnstad 67 Bolmen 61 Brønstad 70 Børset

48 Fjeldet 23 Fosseide 27 Furuhaugen

39 Gaasvatn 66 Grytbakken 22 Grønlien 33 Grøset 50 Grøtan

55 Haakenslien 9 Haltlien 11 Haraholten 34 Haugen 54 Haugholt 10 Heggem 4 Helgetun 49 Helgonset 40 Hermundslien 19 Holten 25 Holten

55 Ingebrigtslien

8 Kattem 7 Kirkholt 14 Knaphaugen 14 Kroken

20 Landsemn 17 Langlien 62 Lerpoll 31 Lilleaasen 35 Lilleløkken 36 Lillemoen 58 Løfald 16 Løset

51 Møkkelgaarden

12 Negaarden 30 Negaarden

13 Reinslien 18 Rindalen 18 Rindøien 11 Romundstad 15 Rød 60 Rød

32 Semundset 64 Sjølsvold 6 Stomprød 37 Storholtan 52 Storløkken 57 Sunnaholt 1 Svartaadalen 56 Sverkelien 3 Sæteren

28 Tiset lille 68 Torset 2 Trætten 59 Trøningsdal

25 Vintervadet

5 Ødegaarden 24 Øien nedre


Farm names listed in Hyldbakk and Karlstrøm’s Gards- Og Æettesoge For Rindal Bind I in 1999 are as follows:  Some farms were divided into Austre, Gamle, Nedre, Indre, Nye, Vestre, Ytre, Øvre. They are not indicated here.

Aasen, Austigard, Austistua, Austistua Jøssåli, Austistua-Yttgarden, Austpålangholten, Bakke, Bakken, Bekken, Berget, Bergheim, Bergland, Berglund, Bergtun, Bjørkhaugen, Bjørklund, Brattlia, Britastuggu, Brubakken, Bruhaugen, Eggen, Eikjlægjet, Fjellhaug, Fjøshaugen, Flåa, Flålia, Flåttatrøa-Hjellen, Flåtten, Fosshaug-Tjørtjellhaugen, Friktrøa, Gammelgjeret, Garli, Gjeret, Glennhaugen, Granheim, Granli, Granlund, Granmo, Guristuggu, Gåstjønnmoen, Hagen, Haltli, Haltligjeret, Haltlihaugen, Haltlili’inn, Haltlivollen, Harraholten, Haugen, Haugum, Heggdal, Heggem, Hegglund, Heggstad, Heimly, Helgeton, Helgetonholt, Holten, Holtet, Holtinn, Holtskaret, Jøssåli, Kalvhåggån, Kalvhåggåstuggu, Kattem, Kattemsøya, Kirkholt, Kirkholtbakken, Kjellen, Kleiva, Kroken, Kysingholten, Langbakken, Langholten, Langholten-Håkkåhaugen, Langholten-Tjørtjellhaugen, Langholttrøa, Langholtøyan, Langli, Langøyan, Lia, Lier, Litjstuggu, Livshaugen, Lykkja, Lægjet, Løfta, Lømo, Løset, Løsethaug, Løsetli, Løsettrøa-Slettet, Løsetvoll, Melen, Midtrelia, Midtstua, Midtstua-Yttgarden, Moen, Mogjeret, Mortenlia, Myran, Nedrelia, Negard, Negardsmoen, Nerbu, Nergård, Nerli, Ner-Løset, Nertun, Nerås, Nestua, Nylykkja, Nystøggu, Nytrøa, Oppigard, Oppistua, Orheim, Rennsli, Rinnli, Rinnlia, Rinnlibakken, Rinnlibakken-Løsetbakken, Rogna, Romundstad, Røen, Rønningen, Røsberg, Røsgeilen, Røsgjeret, Røsgrinna, Røslykkja, Råket, Sagalund, Sagja, Sagstua, Sagstuggu-Kerstistuggu, Seterholt, Skjervet, Skogly, Skruen, Skrutrøa, Skrøen, Småmyran, Solbakk, Solberg, Solhaug, Solstad, Solvoll, Steinbakken, Steinlykkja, Stomprød, Stomprødgjeret, Stomprødholtin, Storli, Storlitrøa, Storsteinen, Strand, Stranda, Svartbekken, Svartådalen, Sveinhaugen, Sverskogen, Svervasslykkja, Svingen, Sæter, Sætergjeret, Tjønnhaugen, Tjørtjellhaugen-Øyen, To’reiten, Tortlia, Tretten, Trollheimen, Trøa, Utigard-Vegli, Utistu Jøssåli, Utistua, Utistua-Yttgarden, Vale, Vangen, Vedbju, Veltaslettet, Villa Åsen, Vollen, Vålåskaret, Ødegård, Øverlia, Øya, Øytun, Åsli

Farm names listed in Hyldbakk and Karlstrøm’s Gards- Og Æettesoge For Rindal Bind II in 1999 are as follows:  Some farms were divided into Austre, Ytre, Øst, Vest, Nordre, Øvre, Nedre, Nye . They are not indicated in this list.

Alsogdgjeret, Aspli, Austigard, Austistua, Bakeriet, Bakkebo, Bakkejord, Bakken, Bakketun, Bakkli, Berg, Berge, Bergly, Bjergen, Bjerkan, Bjørgmo, Bjørkli, Bjørklund, Bjørkly, Blom, Bogen, Bortate, Bortistua, Brandbu, Brandhaug, Brattbakken, Bregne, Briedablikk, Brinken, Brubakken, Bruflåtten, Brustuggu, Bruøya, Bryn, Brynhildtrøa, Brynjulvstua, Bustadhus, Corner, Dalbakk, Dalen, Doktorgården, Ekre, Eldhusbakken, Elshaug, Elstad, Elvebakken, Enger, Engli, Engstad, Evjen, Fagerbakken, Fjellheim, Flø, Fossbakk, Fosseide, Fosseidedalen, Fossum, Fredheim, Friborg, Furu, Furubakken, Furuhaug, Furuhaughuset, Furuholt, Furuli, Furulund, Furuly, Furumo, Furumoen, Furuset, Furutun, Gammelstua, Gammelstuggu, Gjerastua, Gjeret, Gjøåbakken, Gjøåkrysset, Gran, Grane, Granmo, Granvin, Grefstad, Grindbakk, Grinden, Grindvoll, Grinna, Grinnstuggu, Gruva, Grønli, Grønlihuset, Grønset, Gudbrandstøggu, Hagamo, Hagen, Hall, Haltlidalen, Hassel, Haug, Haugum, Hegge, Heggli, Hegli, Heimbo, Heimly, Helgetun, Heram, Himlingen, Holt, Holte, Holten, Holthaugen, Holtlykkja, Holttrøa, Hov, Husby, Hyll, Høghaugen, Høgset, Igeltjønnhaugen, Ildristøggu, Joker, Jonli, Jore, Kalvhåggån, Kleiva, Krokstad, Kvam, Kvernhusbakken, Kvilset-Pe-Stua, Kvistann, Landsem, Landsemvollan, Langmyrhaugen, Langset, Leiro, Lende, Lervoll, Lian, Liberg, Lier, Lillebakken, Lilledalen, Lille-Tiset, Linnset, Litjåsen, Luli, Lund, Lunde, Lunheim, Lunset, Lykkja, Lykkjbakken, Lyng, Lyngen, Lyngmo, Løkkvin, Lønn, Løvset, Løvstad, Markeløkken, Mekkjelhusa, Melsatuggu, Midtbø, Midtstua, Moan, Moen, Moen-Nymoen, Motun, Myra, Myrabakken, Myre, Myrmo, Myrset, Myrvang, Myrås, Myrås, Nedre Øyen, Negård, Nerheim, Ness, Nestua, Nestå, Nordbø, Nordheim-Larshusa, Nordli, Nordstad, Nordvik, Nore, Noreng, Norhus, Norset, Nortun, Norum, Nyberget, Nybo, Nyborg, Nybø, Nygarden, Nyheim, Nyhus, Nylund, Nyset, Nystad, Nytrøa, Nyvang, Nyvoll, Nøkkero, Oppheim, Oppigard, Oppistua, Paktarbustaden, Petterstua, Pors, Prestlyykja, Rabben, Reine, Rena, Rindal, Rindal Hotell, Rindal Prestegard, Rindalsholt, Rindalshuset, Rindalsvollan, Rinde, Ring, Rinnheim, Rinnøya, Rogne, Rotli, Rydland, Rød, Rønstad, Røyse, Råa, Saghaugen, Sande, Sandmo, Sandstad, Selje, Siv, Skaug, Skifaret, Skoger, Skogheim, Skogly, Skogrand, Skogset, Skogsletta, Skogstad, Skogtun, Skogvang, Skreddarstua, Slittholten, Smestuggu, Snausen, Sneve, Solbakken, Solbu, Sole, Solem, Solgløtt, Solhaug, Solhus, Solmo, Solstad, Soltun, Solås, Sommervoll, Spanskhaugen, Spovin, Steinan, Stene, Stenseng, Stensli, Stokke, Stor-Tiset, Stubban, Sveen, Svingen, Tangen, Teigen, Tempe, Tisetbakk, Tisetgjeret, Tisethuset, Tisetvollan, Torgjeret, Trede, Treholt, Trolia, Trollbu, Trollhaugen, Trollheim, Trondstad, Trøa, Trøen, Tun, Tuv, Tuva, Tvete, Tyri, Tørhaugen, Utigard, Utigard-Sommervoll, Utistua, Utsikten, Utsyn, Vang, Vangen, Vasseng, Vassli, Vatne, Vaulen, Veiset, Vemo, Venås, Vestby, Vestbø, Vesterheim, Vestheim, Vestli, Vestly, Vestrevegen, Vesttun, Vettås, Vikheim, Villa Nybø, Vinholtet, Vintervadtrøa, Vintervoll, Voll, Vollan, Vollen, Vårhaug, Vårtun, Winger, Østby, Østmo, Øvre, Øya, Øyabakken, Øyaholten, Øyatrø, Øyavoll, Årtun, Årvak, Åsgård, Åstun

Farm names listed in Hyldbakk and Karlstrøm’s Gards- Og Æettesoge For Rindal Bind IIIin 1999 are as follows: Some farms were divided into Austre, Ytre, Sønder, Øvre, Nedre. They are not indicated in this list.

Akselhus, Alm, Asphaug, Asphaughuset, Asphaugstuggu, Aspholten, Asplund, Austheim, Austigard, Austistua, Austli, Bakk, Bakken, Barnehage, Bekkestua, Bekkjadal, Bekkjadalsgjeret, Berge, Berget, Bergheim, Berslia, Bjørkly, Bjørkvang, Bjørkås, Bjørnsli, Blåhaugen, Bogevollen, Brandhaugen, Brandådalen, Bruberg, Bruholten, Bruset, Bårdshaug, Dalen, Damli, Driva, Einbakken, Einebakk, Elvahuset, Elvebakk, Engan, Engen, Engli, Engset, Fagerheim, Fjellet, Fjellset, Fjelltrøa, Flaggstad, Flåkkan, Fossan, Fredriksli, Fredvang, Furudalen, Furulund, Furuvang, Geilhaugen, Gjeratrøa, Gjeret, Gran, Granly, Grøset, Grøsethuset, Grøsetlia-Myra, Grøsetstøggu, Grøtan, Grøtbakken, Gården, Gåsbakk, Gåsvasstrøa, Gåsvatan, Hafella, Hafellgjeret, Haffelltrøa, Hagen, Halgunset, Halgunsetgjeret, Haug, Haugabakken, Haugagjeret, Haugan, Haugatrøa, Haugen, Haugli, Haugmo, Haugtun, Heggbotn, Heimly, Heimstua, Heimtun, Hermundsli, Hermundslien, Hermundsligjeret, Hermundslihaugen, Holtan, Holten, Hoset, Husatrøa, Høgholt, Høgholtgjeret, Høgholttrøa, Høgli, Høgset, Høgtun, Håkensli, Håven, Ingebrigtsli, Ingebrigtslihuset, Jolihuset, Jonli, Kalvgjeret, Kalvhåggån, Klevstad, Klopdalshaugen, Kolbotn, Kvilvang, Kåsen, Lerstad, Lia, Liabruna, Liabø, Liagard, Liagjeret, Liahuset, Lia-Myra, Lian, Lier, Lillehaugen, Lilleløkken, Lillemo, Liset, Litjflåkkan, Litj-Grøtan, Litjøya, Lium, Lomunda Grendahus, Lunberg, Lundheim, Lunheim, Lunvang, Lykkja, Lykkjegjeret, Lykkjehuset-Husatrøa, Lykkjevollen, Lyng, Lyngheim, Lyngmo, Lyngset, Lyngås, Lysevoll, Løfald, Løfaldli, Løfaldlihuset, Løfaldlitrøa, Løkkhuset, Løvset, Løvås, Melan, Melen, Melum, Midtigard, Midtstua, Midttrøa, Midttun, Mobakk, Moen, Mosgjeret, Myklegard, Myran, Myre, Myreng, Myrtun, Møkkelgardshaugen, Negard, Nerbakk, Ner-Grøtan, Nertun, Nestua, Neverøya, Nordgard, Nordgård, Nordly, Nordvang, Norli, Nybakk, Nybo, Nyborg, Nyheim, Nyhus, Nylandet, Nylykkja, Nyset, Nystua, Nytrøen, Nytun, Oddnes, Oppigard, Oppistua, Pedersli, Peligjeret, Plassdalen, Plassgjeret, Plasshuset, Rabben, Rodal, Rognli, Ryan, Røde Kors-huset, Røen, Rønningen, Rørdal, Rørvang, Røsgjeret, Råa, Råket, Sagatun, Sagvoll, Setertrøa, Simonset, Sjøli, Skarset, Skogland, Skoglund, Skogmo, Slåa, Solbakk, Solbakken, Solbu, Solhaug, Solheim, Sollia, Solvang, Solvik, Solås, Spranget, Steinkalvhåggån, Steinset, Sten, Stenberg, Storholt, Storløkken, Storstøggu, Sunnset, Sverkeli, Sverkeligjeret, Sydholt, Sæterhaug, Sæterlia, Teigen, Torve, Toråhaugen, Trohaugen, Trøa, Trøknaholt, Trøknbakk, Trøknholten, Trønsdal, Trønsdalsbakken, Trønset, Trønstad, Tun, Utigard, Utistua, Vang, Vassmo, Viholten, Vinnes, Vollen, Volleng, Vollset, Vonheim, Vårtun, Østbø, Østerholt, Østtun, Østvang, Øverlia, Øverås, Øygarden, Øygardsbakken, Øytun, Øytungjeret, Åkerbakken, Åkre, Ålbu, Åset, Åsly, Åsmo, Åsvang, Åøya

Farm names listed in Hyldbakk and Karlstrøm’s Gards- Og Æettesoge For Rindal Bind IV in 1999 are as follows: Some farms were divided into Austre, Ytre, Øvre, Nedre, Gamle, Yngre. They are not indicated in this list.

Alm, Almberg, Almbergsbakken, Almbergsøya, Alvsaga, Annebu, Asbjørstuggu, Asp, Aune, Aunebakk, Aunebakkfaggen, Aunet, Aunholten, Austigard, Austihusa, Austistua, Bakkafall, Bakkeset, Bakketun, Bakliholten, Bekketun, Bergtun, Bjorøya, Bjørk, Bjørklund, Bjørkvoll, Bjørlo, Bjørndal, Bjørnset, Bjørnstad, Bjørnås, Bjørnåsplass, Bjørnåsøya, Bjørvoll, Bolmbakken, Bolme, Bolmeng, Bolmstad, Bolmvollan, Bortistua, Braut, Brennholten, Broset, Bruset, Bruvoll, Bruøya, Brønstad, Brønstadholten, Brønstadtrøa, Bråten, Buluøya, Bursstuggu, Bursøya, By, Børset, Børsethuset, Børsettrøa, Børsetåsen, Dalingvollen, Daløy, Eden, Ekre, Elverhøy, Elvetun, Enge, Engli, Evjen, Faggen, Faggstadbakken, Faggøya, Faggøyan, Fjellset, Folden, Fossdal, Furu, Furuholt, Furuli, Furuly, Furumo, Furuvegen, Gjeret, Granly, Grinder, Grinna, Gryta, Grytbakk, Grytbakkholten, Grytbakktrøa, Gryte, Gryteng, Grytøya, Hafella, Hag, Hauan, Haugan, Hauger, Haugly, Heimistua, Holten, Holtet, Holtrommet, Høgda, Høgås, Høyløholtet, Hålte, Jo-Arntsåa-Stuggu, Kalvhåggån, Kalvtrøa, Kamslitta, Kamslittbakken, Kveldheim, Kveldstad, Kåsa, Lauvli, Leira, Leire, Leirpollen, Leirvoll, Lia, Librekk, Lidarende, Liheim, Lillemoen, Litjøystuggu, Litjåsen, Ljøsåbakken, Ljøsåholten, Lund, Lunde, Lunheim, Lykkja-Fillimyrlykkja, Lykkjholtet, Lyng, Lyngmo, Lyngstad, Meistad, Melen, Melen, Midttun, Mobakk, Moholt, Movoll, Myre, Myrhaug, Myrmo, Neer, Negard, Nereng, Nergard, Nerstad, Nestua, Nilssaga, Nordbakken, Nordbu, Nordly, Nordvoll, Normo, Nyeng, Nygargen, Nygjeret, Nygården, Nyheim, Nyhusa, Nyhusan, Nyset, Nysæter, Nyås, Oppigard, Oppistua, Oppistufaggen, Opptun, Pælan, Påltrøa, Ramstad, Reitan, Reitholtet, Rimstad, Rinnsaga, Rinnvollen, Riseth, Rogne, Rome, Saglund, Sagmoen, Selje, Shellstad, Sjellen, Skarpaunet, Skjølset, Skjølsvoll, Skjølsvolløya, Skoglund, Skogly, Skogmo, Skogtun, Skotlykkja, Slagevoll-Slagvollbakken, Slettet-Skjølstad, Slettvoll, Slåa, Smedtrøa, Smevold, Smistad, Solbris, Solstad, Soltun, Solum, Steinråa, Steinset, Sten, Stensbakk, Stokke, Storholtet, Storholtstuggu, Sunna, Sunnset, Svorklia, Svævet, Sølvsmedøyan, Sørflaten, Sørheim, Sørøya, Sørås, Tangen, Tjørmoen, Toreheim, Torshall-Grytmyra, Trøa, Trøstuggu, Tue, Tun, Tungeven, Tunli, Tunstad, Tunsvoll, Tuva, Tyri, Tøfte, Tømmervegen, Tørset, Tørsetholten, Tørsethuset, Tørsetlia, Tørsetøya, Ullkorga as Dalheim, Utigard, Utigardsfaggen, Utistua, Utsikten, Vang, Veiset, Voldset, Vollen, Vollum, Vårum, Øra, Østby, Østhus, Østvoll, Øverlandet, Øya, Øyabakken, Øyastuggu, Øytun, Øyum, Ålbu, Ås, Åsen, Åsheim, Åstun


Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1668-1877: Probates are found in Nordmøre judicial district.

1697-1812: Clerical probates are found in Nordmøre Deanery

References[edit | edit source]

Hyldbakk, Hans, Karlstrøm, Willy. Gards- Og Æettesoge For Rindal Bind I. Rindal: Wennbergs Trykkeri AS, 1999

Hyldbakk, Hans, Karlstrøm, Willy. Gards- Og Æettesoge For Rindal Bind II. Rindal: Wennbergs Trykkeri AS, 1999

Hyldbakk, Hans, Karlstrøm, Willy. Gards- Og Æettesoge For Rindal Bind III. Rindal: Wennbergs Trykkeri AS, 1999

Hyldbakk, Hans, Karlstrøm, Willy. Gards- Og Æettesoge For Rindal Bind IV. Rindal: Wennbergs Trykkeri AS, 1999

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names