Richmond County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Richmond County

Guide to Richmond County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Augusta
Organized: February 5, 1777
Parent County(s): St. Paul Parish[1]
Neighboring Counties
Aiken (SC)  • Burke  • Columbia  • Edgefield (SC)  • Jefferson  • McDuffie
See County Maps
Courthouse
Richmond County Court House Augusta City, Georgia.jpg
Location Map
Georgia Richmond County Map.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Charles Lennox, 3rd Duke of Richmond, a British politician and office-holder sympathetic to the cause of the American colonies. Richmond was also a first cousin to King George III. The County is located in the east central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Richmond County Courthouse
530 Green Street
Augusta, GA 30911-0001
Phone: 760-821-2460
Richmond County Website

Clerk Superior Court has land records from 1778 and court records.
Probate Court has marriage and probate records.[3]

Richmond County, Georgia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1919 1785 1919 1782 1778 1782 1820
Statewide registration of births and death began in 1919. General compliance for births by 1928 and deaths by 1922.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.[5]

Boundary Changes

  • 1777 Richmond County was created 5 February 1777 from St. Paul Parish.
  • County seat: Augusta[6]

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Richmond County, Georgia:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

  • 1873-1881 Teachers Employed from 1873 to 1881 in Richmond County Georgia Pioneers ($)

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Richmond, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Richmond County cemeteries.

Census Records

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

St. Mary's Church, Augusta

  • 1895 - St. Mary's Church, Augusta, Marriage Index 1895. Batch M713611 at FamilySearch

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Augusta

Episcopal
Christ Church Episcopal, Augusta

  • 1887-1895 Christ Church Episcopal, Augusta, Marriage Index 1887-1895. Batch M713591 at FamilySearch[7]

Church of the Atonement Episcopal, Augusta

  • 1851-1885 Church of the Atonement Episcopal, Augusta, Baptism Index 1851-1885. Batch C713601 at FamilySearch
  • 1851-1895 Church of the Atonement Episcopal, Augusta, Baptism Index 1851-1885. Batch M713601 at FamilySearch

St. Paul's Episcopal Church, Augusta

  • 1868-1885 St. Paul's Episcopal Church, Augusta, Baptism Index 1868-1885. Batch C713621 at FamilySearch
  • 1868-1885 St. Paul's Episcopal Church, Augusta, Marriage Index 1868-1885. Batch M713621 at FamilySearch

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans
Terrell, Lloyd Preston. Blacks in Augusta: a chronology, 1741-1977 / by Lloyd P. Terrell and Marguerite S. C. Terrell. - Augusta, Ga. Preston Publications. c 1977. 50 p. F294.A9 T47

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Richmond County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Augusta. Augusta, Ga.: Tidwell Print. Supply Co., 1938. Digital version at Ancestry ($)
  • Clark, Walter A. A Lost Arcadia, or, The Story of My Old Community. Augusta, Ga.: Chronicle Job Print., 1909. Digital version at Ancestry ($)
  • Dellquest, Augustus Wilfrid. Historic Augusta: A Brief Description of the Monuments and Places of Historical Interest in and around Augusta, Ga. Augusta, Ga.: A.W. Dellquest Book Co., 1917. Digital version at Ancestry ($)
  • Jones, Charles Colcock. Memorial History of Augusta, Georgia: From Its Settlement in 1735 to the Close of the Eighteenth Century. Syracuse, N.Y.: D. Mason & Co., 1890. Digital version at Ancestry ($)

Maps and Gazetteers

McDuffie CountyColumbia CountyJefferson CountyBurke CountyAiken CountyEdgefield CountyGA RICHMOND.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Early migration routes to and from Richmond County for European settlers included:[8]

Military Records

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Richmond County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Richmond County:

- 1st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 1st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Ramsey's) (Confederate), Companies D and I
- 3rd Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies G and I
- 3rd Battalion, Georgia Sharpshooters (Confederate)
- 3rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies G and I
- 5th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies A, C and N
- 9th Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 10th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies B, D and K
- 11th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company B
- 12th Battalion, Georgia Light Artillery (Confederate), Reorganized Companies D and F
- 20th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company K
- 22nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company A
- 48th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies C and I
- 62nd Regiment, Georgia Cavalry (Confederate) , Company E, H and I


  • Sheahan, John J. 1996. Military markers and data: Cemeteries located in Richmond County, Georgia. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 1598370


World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Voting Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Online Probate Records

School Records

  • 1873-1881 Teachers Employed from 1873 to 1881 in Richmond County Georgia Pioneers ($)

Tax Records

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Augusta Genealogical Society
    1109 Broad St.
    Augusta, GA 30901
    Phone: 706-722-4073
    Website
  • Augusta-Richmond County Historical Society (ARCHS)
    2500 Walton Way
    Augusta, GA 30904-2200
    Phone:706-737-1532
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Richmond County, Georgia" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Richmond_County,_Georgia accessed 5 Nov 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Richmond County, Georgia. Page 151-163 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 155-160.
  5. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 50-51. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.