Rhode Island, United States Genealogy
Guide to Rhode Island ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Rhode Island Wiki Topics|
|Rhode Island Background|
|Local Research Resources|
Rhode Island Information[edit | edit source]
Rhode Island is a state in the northeast portion of the United States. The capital is Providence and it is divided into 5 counties. Rhode Island was the 13th state to ratify the Constitution on 29 May 1790. Rhode Island was created from the Colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations, then Sovereign state in Confederation. 
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Rhode Island Research
Links to articles on getting started with Rhode Island research.
Rhode Island Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Rhode Island research.
Rhode Island Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
Many genealogy records are kept on the county level in the United States. Click on a county below to go to the county Wiki article listing more information.
Counties[edit | edit source]
Rhode Island Migration Routes[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records - databases and record images on FamilySearch
- Family History Center locator map
Additional Resources[edit | edit source]
- Cyndi's List - Rhode Island genealogy sites on the internet
- Rhode Island Genealogy Trails - collection of transcribed data for the state of Rhode Island
- Access Genealogy – Genealogy guide for Rhode Island
- Ancestorhunt.com - resources for Rhode Island genealogy research
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Guide to Ancestry and Family Tree Records for Rhode Island
- Rhode Island Research Outline – Original Family History Library research outline; contains many out of date links
- Rhode Island County Creation Dates and Parent Counties
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "List of US States by Date of Admission," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_U.S._states_by_date_of_admission_to_the_Union, accessed 31 Oct 2016.