Rewe, Devon Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Devon Parishes

Guide to Rewe, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Rewe, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hayridge; Wonford
County Devon
Poor Law Union St Thomas
Registration District St Thomas
Records begin
Parish registers: 1675
Bishop's Transcripts: 1609
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Plymtree
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Parish History

REWE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of St. Thomas, partly in the hundred of Hayridge, but chiefly in the hundred of Wonford, Wonford and S. divisions of Devon, 5 miles (N. N. E.) from Exeter with the tything of Up-Exe. This parish is situated on the river Culm, and intersected by the road from Exeter to Tiverton.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Rewe parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[5]
REWE PARISH Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images


IGI 1609-1837





Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Rewe on GENUKI


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 659-665. Date accessed: 2 August 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 February 2014.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.