To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Reuss Older Line (Reuss-Greiz or ältere linie), German Empire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Reuss Older Line (Reuss-Greiz or ältere linie)
Reuss Older Line
(Reuss-Greiz or ältere linie),
German Empire Wiki Topics
500px-Palais Bad Köstritz.jpg
Getting Started
Reuss Older Line
(Reuss-Greiz or ältere linie)
Major Record Types
Reading the Records
Additional Reuss Older Line
(Reuss-Greiz or ältere linie)
Record Types
Reuss Older Line
(Reuss-Greiz or ältere linie)
Background
Reuss Older Line
(Reuss-Greiz or ältere linie)
Research Resources
Germany Record Types
Germany Background

Guide to Reuss Older Line (Reuss-Greiz or ältere linie), German Empire ancestry, family history, and genealogy before 1945: birth records, marriage records, death records, both church and civil registration, compiled family history, and finding aids.

Thuringia ORP.png {{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg


Historical Background[edit | edit source]

The Principality of Reuss-Greiz, called the Principality of the Reuss Elder Line after 1848, was a sovereign state in modern Germany, ruled by members of the House of Reuss.

In 1919, in the aftermath of World War I, the territory of the Elder Line was merged with that of the Junior Line as the People's State of Reuss, which was incorporated into the new state of Thuringia (Thüringen) in 1920. Wikipedia

Getting Started[edit | edit source]

Getting Started with Germany Research

Links to articles on getting started with German research:

See More Research Strategies

Germany Research Tools

Links to tools and websites that assist in German research:

See More Research Tools

Historical Geography[edit | edit source]

Reuss Older Line (Reuss-Greiz or ältere linie) within the German Empire

ROL IN GE.png

Reuss Older Line (Reuss-Greiz or ältere linie)
within Thuringia (Thüringen) 1871-1920

500px-Shield Reuss OL.png
Former States of the German Empire Now in the State of Thuringia (Thüringen)

800px-THUERINGEN.png


History of Reuss Older Line (Reuss-Greiz or ältere linie) in the German Empire
Geo-Political Differences Today
FamilySearch Catalog
(organized by 1871 Meyer's Gazetteer)
Wiki Pages

Reuss-Greiz or Older Line (Reuss ältere Linie)

1920: Became part of the current state of Thuringia (Thüringen), which was dissolved in 1952, and re-established in 1990. (Map)

Reuss ältere Linie

Finding Birth, Marriage, and Death Records for Reuss Older Line (Reuss-Greiz or ältere linie)[edit | edit source]

Most of the information you need to identify you ancestors and their families will be found in two major record groups: civil registration and church records. To locate these records, follow the instructions in these Wiki articles.

1. Find the name of your ancestor's town in family history records.[edit | edit source]

Records were kept on the local level. You must know the town where your ancestor lived. If your ancestor was a United States Immigrant, use the information in the Wiki article Germany Finding Town of Origin to find evidence of the name of the town where your ancestors lived in Germany.

2. Use gazetteers and/or parish register inventories to learn more important details.[edit | edit source]

Your ancestor's town might have been too small to have its own parish church or civil registration office. Find the location of the Catholic or Lutheran (Evangelical) parish that served your ancestor's locality. Find the name of the civil registration office (standesamt) that serves your ancestor's locality. Use the Wiki article Finding Aids For German Records for step-by-step instructions.

Germany was first unified as a nation in 1871. An important gazetteer, Meyers Orts- und Verkehrs-lexikon des deutschen Reichs, "Meyer's Gazetter" for short, details the place names of villages, towns, counties (kreise), and higher jurisdictions used at that time. In the Research Wiki, FamilySearch Catalog, and FamilySearch Historical Records, the records of Germany are organized using those place names.

You can also consult Reuss Older Line (Reuss-Greiz or ältere linie) Parish Record Inventories to learn the Lutheran or Catholic parish that would have kept records for your town.


At the end of both World Wars, the boundaries of the states were changed dramatically, as areas of Germany were distributed among the Allied nations. Eventually, after re-unification in 1990, the states of Germany settled into what they are today. It is also necessary to understand Germany by this system, as it affects the locations of civil registration offices, archives, and mailing addresses used in correspondence searches.

3. For birth, marriage, and death records after 1 January 1876, use civil registration.[edit | edit source]

Follow the instructions in Reuss Older Line (Reuss-Greiz or ältere linie), German Empire Civil Registration.

4. For baptism, marriage, and death records, use church records or parish registers.[edit | edit source]

Follow the instructions in Reuss Older Line (Reuss-Greiz or ältere linie), German Empire Church Records.


More Research Strategies and Tools[edit | edit source]