Republic County, Kansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kansas
Republic County

Guide to Republic County, Kansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Belleville
Organized: February 27, 1860
Parent County(s): Original county[1]
Neighboring Counties
Cloud  • Jefferson (NE)  • Jewell  • Nuckolls (NE)  • Thayer (NE)  • Washington
See County Maps
Courthouse
KansasRepublicCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
200px-Map of Kansas highlighting Republic County svg.bmp
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for the Republican River. The County has Belleville as its seat and the County was created February 27, 1860.[2] The County is located in the north central area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse

Republic County Courthouse
1815 M Street Rt 1
Belleville, Kansas 66935
Phone: 785.527.5691
Republic County Website


Register of Deeds has land records.
Probate Court has probate records. [4]

Republic County, Kansas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1885 1869 1885 1871 1868 1868 1855
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.[6]

Record Loss

1938 Fire destroyed the county courthouse.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • Parent County: Republic County was created 27 February 1860 as an original county of what was, at the time, the Kansas Territory.[7] It remained a county when the territory became a state on 29 January 1861.[8]
  • 1861: From 22 May 1861 to 13 February 1865, it was attached to Marshall County.[9]
  • 1867: From 14 February 1865 to 1 March 1867, it was attached to Washington County.[10]
  • 1867: From 2 March 1867 to 22 March 1868, it was attached again to Marshall County.[11]
  • 1868: Until the county was formally organized on 23 March 1868, it was attached to neighboring counties "for judicial purposes".
  • County seat: Belleville[12]
  • Republic County has not undergone any boundary changes since its creation in 1860.
  • Map: Interactive Formation Boundary Map of Kansas - shows boundary changes for Kansas Counties
  • Chronology: Kansas Historical Boundary Changes - legislative details of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library

Populated Places

The following are locations in Republic County, Kansas:[13]

Cities
Unincorporated communites
Townships
  • Albion
  • Beaver
  • Belleville
  • Big Bend
  • Courtland
  • Elk Creek
  • Fairview
  • Farmington
  • Freedom
  • Grant
  • Jefferson
  • Liberty
  • Lincoln
  • Norway
  • Richland
  • Rose Creek
  • Scandia
  • Union
  • Washington
  • White Rock
Ghost towns


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Republic County, Kansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kansas Cemeteries for more information
  • Albion Township
    • Maple Grove Cemetery
  • Belleville
    • Belleville Cemetery
  • Belleville Township
    • Grace Hill Cemetery
    • Pleasant View Cemetery
  • Big Bend Township
    • Lake Cemetery
    • Rose Mound Cemetery
  • Courtland Township
    • Courtland Cemetery
  • Elk Creek Township
    • Willoughby Cemetery
  • Fairview Township
    • Saint Georges Cemetery
    • Saint Katherine Cemetery
    • Tabor Cemetery
  • Farmington Township
    • Farmington Cemetery
    • Mill Creek Cemetery
    • National Cemetery
  • Freedom Township
    • Saint Josaphats Cemetery
  • Grant Township
    • Rose Hill Cemetery
    • Union Cemetery
    • Zion Cemetery
  • Jefferson Township
    • Pleasant Hill Cemetery
  • Liberty Township
    • Liberty Cemetery
    • Stephenson Cemetery
  • Lincoln Township
    • Frontier Cemetery
  • Norway Township
    • Norway Cemetery
    • Oakdale Cemetery
    • Pleasant Ridge Cemetery
    • Valley Cemetery
  • Richland Township
    • Hawks Cemetery
  • Rose Creek Township
    • Hubbell Cemetery
    • Rose Creek Cemetery
  • Scandia Township
    • Lutheran Cemetery
    • Poplar Grove Cemetery
    • Riverview Cemetery
  • Union Township
    • Prairie Rose Cemetery
  • Washington Township
    • Washington Cemetery
  • White Rock Township
    • Gritten Cemetery
    • Mount Pleasant Cemetery
    • Persinger Cemetery
    • White Rock Cemetery

 

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 1,281
1880 14,913 1064.2%
1890 19,002 27.4%
1900 18,248 −4.0%
1910 17,447 −4.4%
1920 15,855 −9.1%
1930 14,745 −7.0%
1940 13,124 −11.0%
1950 11,478 −12.5%
1960 9,768 −14.9%
1970 8,498 −13.0%
1980 7,569 −10.9%
1990 6,482 −14.4%
2000 5,835 −10.0%
2010 4,980 −14.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Kansas became a territory in 1854 and the first territory census taken was in 1855. It was also enumerated as Kansas Territory in the 1860 Federal Census, although there were 15 counties that were marked with "no population" in them. The state continued to take state censuses after it was admitted to the Union in 1861.[14] See links listed below.

State and Territorial Census Records

Federal Census Records

The 1870 Census was the first Federal Census taken for Kansas after it became a state in 1861.[15] For links to Federal Census indexes, see Kansas Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Online Land Records

For more information see Kansas Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Republic County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Maps and Gazetteers

Nuckolls County, NEThayer County, NEJefferson County, NEWashingtonCloudJewellRepublic, Kansas.JPG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Republic County is divided into 20 townships, each approximately 6 miles by 6 miles, except White Rock and Union townships, whose boundary is the Republican River.


R5W R4W R3W R2W R1W
T1S Big Bend Washington Liberty Rose Creek Albion
T2S White Rock Union Freedom Fairview Farmington
T3S Courtland Scandia Belleville Jefferson Richland
T4S Beaver Norway Lincoln Grant Elk Creek

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

  • "The only soldiers from Republic county in the war of the rebellion were Ezra Spencey Cory, who enlisted at Ft. Riley as a private in Company C, 2nd Cavalry, August 27th, 1863, served a little more than a year, and died at Springfield, Missouri, March 9th 1864, and Wm. Harshberger, ...who on the 8th of April was commissioned by the President as second lieutenant in the 5th U.S. Volunteers." from A History of Republic County, Kansas `by I.O. Savage.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For more information, see Kansas Newspapers.

Kansas Newspapers Online

Kansas Newspaper Catalogs


The Belleville Public Library, with financial support from local patrons and The Belleville Telescope, has digitzed almost its entire collection of Republic County newspapers (and a few other periodicals) published from 1876 to 2005. This entire collection, comprising nearly 150,000 pages, can be searched, browsed, and saved free online at the Digital Archives of the Belleville Public Library.

Digitized Periodical Holdings
Title Place of
Publication
From To
Belleville Telescope Belleville 1876-04-066 April 1876 2005-12-2929 December 2005
Scandia Republic Scandia 1877-01-033 January 1877 1877-11-2828 November 1877
Republic County Journal Scandia 1878-01-099 January 1878 1892-02-1212 February 1892
Scandia Journal Scandia 1882-01-077 January 1882 2004-05-2727 May 2004
Republic County Independent Narka 1883-09-1313 September 1883 1883-12-1313 December 1883
Belleville Weekly Record Belleville 1883-10-055 October 1883 1883-10-05
Republic County Pilot Cuba 1885-03-2626 Mar 1885 1887-05-2626 May 1887
Republic County Chief Narka 1885-05-2222 May 1885 1886-11-1919 November 1886
Scandia Independent Narka 1886-12-1717 December 1886 1889-08-099 August 1889
Cuba Pilot Cuba 1887-06-033 June 1887 1888-10-1212 October 1888
Cuba Union Cuba 1888-08-3030 August 1888 1889-02-2222 February 1889
Cuba Daylight Cuba 1888-10-1919 October 1888 1922-12-2929 December 1922
Cuba Union Pilot Cuba 1889-03-088 March 1889 1890-04-2525 April 1890
Farmer's Alliance Cuba 1890-08-077 August 1890 1890-10-033 October 1890
Alliance Sun Cuba 1891-05-1414 May 1891 1891-10-2929 October 1891
Western Record Kackley 1893-04-011 April 1893 1893-09-1919 September 1893
Kackley Leader Kackley 1893-04-066 April 1893 1894-06-2222 June 1894
Evangelistic War Cry Kackley 1893-10-033 October 1893 1894-05-033 May 1894
Herald of Pentecost Kackley 1894-08-011 August 1894 1894-09-011 September 1894
Cuba Advocate Cuba 1897-10-2222 October 1897 1901-10-1111 October 1901
Belleville Freeman Belleville 1899-02-022 February 1899 1900-12-1313 December 1900
Cuba Record Cuba 1900-10-1212 October 1900 1900-12-1414 December 1900
Belleville Telescope
and Belleville Freeman
Belleville 1909-10-2222 October 1909 1923-02-011 February 1923
God's Messenger Elk 1914-09-1717 September 1914 1925-10-011 October 1925
Cuba Tribune Cuba 1923-11-2222 November 1923 1938-08-1818 August 1938
Pentecostal Holiness Faith
and God's Messenger
Oklahoma City,
Oklahoma
1925-12-011 December 1925 1925-12-01
Scandia High News Narka 1935-10-044 October 1935 1940-12-1313 December 1940
Svenskens Rost Narka 1963-10-1313 October 1963 1964-10-2525 November 1964

The Kansas Historical Society has additional Republic County newspapers that may be borrowed on microfilm.

Obituaries

Other Records

Voter Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Republic and click Probate records.


Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Republic County Historical Museum
615 28th St
Belleville, Kansas 66935
Telephone: 785-527-5971
E-mail:repcomuse@nckcn.com
Website

Societies

Republic County Historical Society
PO Box 218
Belleville 66935

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Republic, Kansas Genealogy and History”, "http://genealogytrails.com/kan/republic/ 9/11/2017."
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Republic, Kansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Republic_County,_Kansas" 9/11/2017.
  4. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  5. Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 237.
  6. “Kansas Research Outline”, (Salt Lake City, Utah: Family History Department, 2000), 40.
  7. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  8. U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 20 [1861]/pp. 126–128; Van Zandt, 138–139
  9. Kans. Laws 1861, 1st leg., ch. 23, sec. 1/p. 123
  10. Kans. Laws 1865, 5th leg., ch. 18/pp. 46–47
  11. Kans. Laws 1867, 7th leg., ch. 52, sec. 16/p. 89
  12. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  13. Wikipedia contributors, "Republic County, Kansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Republic_County,_Kansas#Communities, accessed 30 September 2017.
  14. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 118-119.
  15. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 119.