Reno County, Kansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Kansas
Reno County

Guide to Reno County, Kansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Hutchinson
Organized: February 26, 1867
Parent County(s): Marion
Neighboring Counties
Harvey  • Kingman  • McPherson  • Pratt  • Rice  • Sedgwick  • Stafford
See County Maps
Courthouse
KansasRenoCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
200px-Map of Kansas highlighting Reno County svg.bmp
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Capt. Jesse L. Reno. The County has Hutchinson as its seat and the County was created February 26, 1867.[1] The County is located in the central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Reno County Courthouse
206 W. 1st Ave.
Hutchinson, Kansas 67501-5245
Phone: 316.665.2934
Reno County Website

County Clerk has birth and death records 1890-1910 and cemetery records 1865-1978.
Clerk District Court has divorce records.
Probate Judge has probate records. [3]

Reno County, Kansas Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1890 1872 1890 1871 1870 1873 1855
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1911. General compliance by 1917.[5]

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in Reno County, Kansas:[7]

Cities
Unincorporated communites
  • Medora
  • Pleasantview
  • St. Joe (Ost)
Census-designated places
Townships
  • Albion
  • Arlington
  • Bell
  • Castleton
  • Center
  • Clay
  • Enterprise
  • Grant
  • Grove
  • Haven
  • Hayes
  • Huntsville
  • Langdon
  • Lincoln
  • Little River
  • Loda
  • Medford
  • Medora
  • Miami
  • Ninnescah
  • Plevna
  • Reno
  • Roscoe
  • Salt Creek
  • Sumner
  • Sylvia
  • Troy
  • Valley
  • Walnut
  • Westminster
  • Yoder
Ghost towns
  • Huntsville
  • Kent
  • Lerado
  • Olcott
  • Sego
  • Yaggy


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Reno County, Kansas online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Kansas Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1880 12,826
1890 27,079 111.1%
1900 29,027 7.2%
1910 37,853 30.4%
1920 44,423 17.4%
1930 47,785 7.6%
1940 52,165 9.2%
1950 54,058 3.6%
1960 59,055 9.2%
1970 60,765 2.9%
1980 64,983 6.9%
1990 62,389 −4.0%
2000 64,790 3.8%
2010 64,511 −0.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Kansas became a territory in 1854 and the first territory census taken was in 1855. It was also enumerated as Kansas Territory in the 1860 Federal Census, although there were 15 counties that were marked with "no population" in them. The state continued to take state censuses after it was admitted to the Union in 1861.[8] See links listed below.

State and Territorial Census Records

Federal Census Records

The 1870 Census was the first Federal Census taken for Kansas after it became a state in 1861.[9] For links to Federal Census indexes, see Kansas Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Kansas Church Records.


LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Hutchinson

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kansas Land and Property for additional information about early Kansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Online Land Records

For more information see Kansas Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Reno County, Kansas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Kansas Local Histories.


Online County Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

BartonRiceMcPhersonHarveySedgwickKingmanPrattStaffordReno, Kansas.JPG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

For more information, see Kansas Newspapers.

Kansas Newspapers Online

Kansas Newspaper Catalogs

Obituaries

Other Records

Voter Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Kansas, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, inventories, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Kansas, Reno and click Probate records.


Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Kansas tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Kansas Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Kansas Office of Vital Statistics or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Kansas Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.


Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Reno County Genealogical Society
PO Box 5
Hutchinson 67504-0005
E-mail:RenoCoGenSoc@gmail.com
Website

Reno County Historical Society
100 South Walnut & Avenue A
Hutchinson, Kansas 67501
Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Reno, Kansas Genealogy and History”, "http://genealogytrails.com/kan/reno 9/11/2017."
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Reno, Kansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reno_County,_Kansas" 9/11/2017.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Reno County, Kansas page 255, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Reno County, Kansas. Page 255 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 237.
  5. “Kansas Research Outline”, (Salt Lake City, Utah: Family History Department, 2000), 40.
  6. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Reno County, Kansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reno_County,_Kansas#Communities, accessed 30 September 2017.
  8. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 118-119.
  9. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses (Bountiful, UT: American Genealogical Lending Library, 1985), page 119.