Ravenstone, Derbyshire Genealogy
Guide to Ravenstone, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Repton and Gresley; West Goscote|
|Poor Law Union||Ashby de la Zouch|
|Registration District||Ashby de la Zouch|
|Parish registers: 1705|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1673|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Derbyshire Record Office|
For more information and records seeRavenstone, Leicestershire
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Ravenstone, St Michael is an Ancient parish which was formerly partly in Derbyshire and largely in Leicestershire. The parish formally became part of the County of Leicestershire in 1884. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Ravenstone parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|Ravenstone St Michael Parish Online Records|
Ravenstone was formerly in Derbyshire but was transferred to Leicestershire in 1884
Leicestershire Record Office has deposited Registers Ravenstone Bap 1705 - 1923 Marr 1708 – 1989 (Banns to1976) Bur 1705 - 1973
Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1673-1883 Mar 1673-1836 Burials 1673-1883 Missing Bap & Bur 1839, 1845-1853
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Revenstone on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 640-645. Date accessed: 27 May 2013.