Ratcliffe on Soar, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to: Ratcliffe, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|Ratcliffe on Soar, Nottinghamshire|
Ratcliffe on Soar Holy Trinity
|Poor Law Union||Shardlow|
|Parish registers: 1597|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1627|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
RATCLIFFE-ON-SOAR (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Shardlow, N. division of the wapentake of Rushcliffe, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 1½ mile (N. by E.) from Kegworth. The navigable river Soar flows through the parish.
Ratcliffe on Soar Holy Trinity is an Ancient parish in Nottinghamshire; the church has been designated a grade I listed building by English HeritageBritish listed buildings
The Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have researched the parish Ratcliffe on Soar
see also Ratcliffe-on-Soar Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Ratcliffe and Soar registration transferred to the Basford registration district on 1 January 1937.
Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).
Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
Ratcliffe on Soar Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|RATCLIFFE ON SOAR PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1597-2003 Marriages 1624-2002 Burials 1624-2006 Bishop's Transcripts 16727-1854
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Ratcliffe on Soar
Ratcliffe on Soar, Holy Trinity. Alphabetical listing of Memorial Inscriptions dating from 1458, both inside and outside the Church, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 54, pages 26-28, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted, date accessed: 09 December 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.