Rappahannock County, Virginia Genealogy
Guide to Rappahannock County Virginia ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records. This article is about a Virginia county formed in 1833. For other uses, see Rappahannock.
|Rappahannock County, Virginia|
Location in the state of Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Rappahannock County, Virginia History
- 3 Rappahannock County, Virginia Places/Localities
- 4 Rappahannock County, Virginia Genealogy Resources
- 4.1 African American
- 4.2 Bible Records
- 4.3 Cemeteries
- 4.4 Census
- 4.5 Church Records
- 4.6 Court
- 4.7 Genealogy
- 4.8 Land and Property
- 4.9 Local Histories
- 4.10 Maps
- 4.11 Military
- 4.12 Miscellaneous Records
- 4.13 Newspapers
- 4.14 Private Papers
- 4.15 Probate Records
- 4.16 Research Guides
- 4.17 Taxation
- 4.18 Vital Records
- 5 Rappahannock County, Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- 6 Rappahannock County, Virginia Genealogy Websites
- 7 References
Rappahannock County was formed from Culpeper County by an Act of the Virginia General Assembly in 1833 and named for the Rappahannock River. It is located in the Piedmont Region of the Commonwealth of Virginia and Washington is the County seat.
Rappahannock County, Virginia Courthouse
Rappahannock County, Virginia
238 Gay Street
P O Box 116
Washington, Virginia 22747
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, probate
and court records from 1833, land records from 1838
and some personal property records from 1834
Rappahannock County, Virginia History
For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
- Lost census: 1890
Rappahannock County, Virginia Places/Localities
- Stonewall Hawthorne
Rappahannock County, Virginia Genealogy Resources
- Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
- Virginia Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 - browse collection at FamilySearch; free.
Additional Bible records include:
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.|
For tips on accessing Rappahannock County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.
1890 Union Veterans
- "Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890." Prince William County Virginia, by Ronald Ray Turner. FHL Collection Includes residents of this county.
Church of England
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):
- Culpeper Monthly Meeting (1777-1797)
Several genealogies have been published about Rappahannock County families. To view a list, visit Rappahannock County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies.
Land and Property
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Eastern District, Rappahannock County on page 133.]
War of 1812
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Rappahannock County, p. 100. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Regiments. Service men in Rappahannock County, Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Rappahannock County, Virginia Genealogy:
- - 6th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company B (Rappahannock Cavalry) and Company C (Rockingham Cavalry, River Rangers).
- - 7th Battalion, Virginia Infantry, Local Defense (1st Nitre Battalion) (Confederate). Company B (Rappahannock Guard) and Company G (Sperryville Sharpshooters).
- - 12th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company G.
- - 49th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D (Sperryville Sharpshooters) and Company I (Rappahannock Rifles).
Records and histories are available, including:
- 1861-1865 - Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Rappahannock County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.
- Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007
- [Gibson] Davis, Bruce G. "Gibson Family Bible, Rappahannock County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 14, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1970):163-164. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
Will Book A, 1833-1842 (digital images) Virginia Pioneers ($)
Will Book B, 1842-1849 (digital images) Virginia Pioneers ($)
Will Book C, 1849-1855 (digital images) Virginia Pioneers ($)
Will Book D, 1855-1866 (digital images) Virginia Pioneers ($)
Online Probate Records
- 1833-1842 Images of Wills and Estates Bk A Virginia Pioneers ($)
- 1842-1849 Images of Wills and Estates Bk B Virginia Pioneers ($)
- 1849-1855 Images of Wills and Estates Bk C Virginia Pioneers ($)
- 1855-1866 Images of Wills and Estates Bk D Virginia Pioneers ($)
- "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Rappahannock County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 21, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1977):220-222. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
Indexes to Rappahannock County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records
- 1853-1870 - Rappahannock County Birth Index 1853-1870. Batch C868653 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1912-1913 - Virginia, Birth Certificates, 1912-1913 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1660-1959 - Virginia, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1740-1850 - Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1833-1869 - Rappahannock County Marriage Index 1833-1869. Batch M868652 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1854-1869 - Rappahannock County Marriage Index 1854-1869. Batch M868653 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1854-1930 - Rappahannock County, Virginia, Marriages 1854-1930 - free.
Vital Record Substitutes
|For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church History and Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.|
Rappahannock County, Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
The Rappahannock Historical Society is located at 328 Gay Street in Washington, VA 22747.
It can be reached at telephone number 540-675-1163 or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org
It is open on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Thursdays from 11:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m.(Open on most Monday holidays).
It offers genealogical research, property history searches, and general historical searches.
Fees for research by its staff are $15 per hour. For a more complete listing of their services and resources visit their resource page
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
Rappahannock County, Virginia Genealogy Websites
- Rappahannock County, Virginia USGenWeb project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Rappahannock County, VA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Familytree101)
- Virginia Pioneers Virginia Pioneers ($)
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Rappahannock County, Virginia. Page 720 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
- Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
- Michael P. Musick, 6th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 66.
- David F. Riggs, 7th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1982). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 3.
- Dennis E. Frye, 12th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 42.
- Richard B. Kleese, 49th Virginia Infantry (Appomattox, Va.: H.E. Howard, 2002). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 138.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.