Rankin County, Mississippi Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Rankin County, Mississippi)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Mississippi
Rankin County

Guide to Rankin County, Mississippi ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Brandon
Organized: 4 February 1828
Parent County(s): Hinds[1]
Neighboring Counties
Copiah  • Hinds  • Madison  • Scott  • Simpson  • Smith
See County Maps
Courthouse
MississippiRankinCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Rankin County.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

This county was named for Christopher Rankin. Rankin County is located in the central area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Rankin County Courthouse
211 E Government Street
Brandon, MS 39042
Phone: 601-825-1469
Rankin County Website

Clerk Chancery Court has divorce, probate, and land records from 1829.

Rankin County, Mississippi Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1882 1824 1828 1830

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1828 Rankin County was created 4 February 1828 from Hinds County.
  • County seat: Brandon[3]

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Rankin County, Mississippi:

Seven Incorporated cities

  • Brandon incorporated in 1831; population >17,317
  • Pearl incorporated in 1973; population>21961
  • Florence incorporated in 1905; also known as Steen's Creek; population >2400
  • Flowood incorporated in 1953; population >5000
  • Pelahatchie-named from Choctaw word meaning 'crooked creek,' incorporated in 1904; population 1500
  • Puckett community; population 400
  • Richland incorporated in 1975; population >6000

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Rankin County, Mississippi online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Mississippi Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

For tips on accessing Rankin County census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Baptist
Brandon Baptist Church
Crossgates Baptist
First Baptist Church of Brandon
Pinelake Baptist

Christian
Community Christian Church
New Life Christian Fellowship

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Brandon Ward

Episcopal
St. Luke's Episcopal Church, Brandon

  • 1858-1927 St. Luke's Episcopal Church, Brandon, Baptism Index 1858-1927. Batch C714341 at FamilySearch

Methodist
Crossgates United Methodist Church

Pentecostal
First United Pentecostal Church

Presbyterian
Briarwood Presbyterian Church USA
Lakeside Presbyterian Church, E.P.C.

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Rankin County. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Madison CountyScott CountySmith CountySimpson CountyCopiah CountyHinds County250PX
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Men in Rankin County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Rankin County:

- 4th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company E - Ramsey’s Company
- 10th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (Old)
Company G - Rankin Rifles
- 10th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (New)
Company H - Rankin Rifles (also listed as Co. A)
- 6th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company A - Rankin Rough & Readies
Company B - New Guard
Company I - Rankin Greys

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

  • Clarion Ledgar

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Rankin County, Mississippi Genealogy Clerk of Court and are housed at the Rankin County, Mississippi Genealogy Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Mississippi Probate Records, 1781-1930. See the wiki page Mississippi Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • Brandon Public Library
    Phone: 601-825-2692
  • Central Mississippi Regional Library System
    Phone: 601-825-0100
  • G. Chastaine Flynt Memorial Library
    Phone: 601-919-1911
  • Pelahatchie Public Library
    Phone: 601-854-8764
  • Reservoir Library
    Phone: 601-992-2539
  • Richland Public Library
    Phone: 601-932-1836

Museums

Societies

  • Rankin County Historical Society
    P.O. Box 841
    Brandon, MS 39043
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Rankin, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rankin_County,_Mississippi."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mississippi.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f2/Igimississippip.pdf.