Randolph County, West Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
West Virginia
Randolph County

Guide to Randolph County, West Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Elkins
Organized: October 16, 1787
Parent County(s): Harrison[1]
Neighboring Counties
Barbour  • Grant  • Pendleton  • Pocahontas  • Tucker  • Upshur  • Webster
See County Maps
Courthouse
Randolph County, West Virginia Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
Wv-randolph.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for Edmund Jennings Randolph. The County has Elkins as its seat and the County was created October 16, 1787. The County is located in the northeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Randolph County Courthouse
2 Randolph Avenue
Elkins, WV 26241
Phone: 304-255-9123
Randolph County Website

County Court Clerk has birth records from 1856, marriage and probate records from 1787, death records from 1853, and land records.[3]

Randolph County, West Virginia Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1856 1787 1853 1787 1787 1787 1870
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1917. General compliance by 1925.

Record Loss

1897 Randolph County had a courthouse fire in 1897, but the birth, death, marriage, wills, deeds, etc., were in a vault and saved. Other records were lost.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes

  • 1787--Randolph County was created 16 October 1787 from Harrison County.
  • County seat: Elkins[5]

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Randolph County, West Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See West Virginia Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 951
1800 1,826 92.0%
1810 2,854 56.3%
1820 3,357 17.6%
1830 5,000 48.9%
1840 6,208 24.2%
1850 5,243 −15.5%
1860 4,990 −4.8%
1870 5,563 11.5%
1880 8,102 45.6%
1890 11,633 43.6%
1900 17,670 51.9%
1910 26,028 47.3%
1920 26,084 0.2%
1930 25,049 −4.0%
1940 30,259 20.8%
1950 30,558 1.0%
1960 26,349 −13.8%
1970 24,596 −6.7%
1980 28,734 16.8%
1990 27,803 −3.2%
2000 28,262 1.7%
2010 29,405 4.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Randolph census records online, see: West Virginia Census.

Census available at Ancestry.com ($) years 1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930. They also have indexed the 1850 Slave Schedule and the 1860 Slave Schedule. Also indexed the 1890 Veteran's Schedule.

  • 1850 US Census 1850 census of Randolph County, WV. Includes index. Arranged by house number and gives house and family number, names of persons in the house, ages, birthplaces, and occupations. Randolph County was part of Virginia until 1863 when it became part of West Virginia. Available in book form at the Family History Library.
  • 1860 US Census 1860 census of Randolph County, Virginia. Includes index. Randolph County is now part of West Virginia. Available in book form at the Family History Library.
  • 1870 US Census Randolph County, WV, 1870 census. Includes index. Available in book form at the Family History Library.

Church Records

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  • Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (1810; reprint, Richmond, Va.: Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 434. Digital version at Google Books:
-Little Bethel (1795)
-Valley (1806)

Randolph County fell within the bounds of the Union Association.

Presbyterian

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

This bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:

  • Locate publications about direct ancestors
  • Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
  • Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" [Friends, Associates, and Neighbors]
  • Coberly - Arthaud, John Bradley. "Dr. James Stell Coberly 18th Century Migrant from New Jersey to Virginia and Revolutionary Patriot," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 26, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1982):112-117; Vol. 26, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1982):183-189. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 26 (1982).
  • Coberly - Harter, Mary. "James Cunningham of Western Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 29, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1985):9-16; Vol. 29, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1985):109-116. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 29 (1985).
  • Cunningham - Harter, Mary. "James Cunningham of Western Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 29, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1985):9-16; Vol. 29, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1985):109-116. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 29 (1985).
  • Cunningham - Newman, Betty Cunningham. Adam and 500 More Cunninghams of the Valley of Virginia, c.1734-c.1800. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, Inc., 2000. FHL Book 929.273 C917n.
  • Currance - Bosworth, Albert S. A History of Randolph County, West Virginia, from Its Earliest Exploration and Settlement to the Present Time. Elkins, W. Va.: A.S. Bosworth, 1916.
  • Goff - The history and genealogy of the Nathan P. Goff family of Randolph County, West Virginia, Delaware County, Indiana, and Madison County, Iowa. Joseph P Barnes. Baker and Taylor: St. Louis, Mo. 1972.
  • Hart - Hammond, Cleon E. John Hart, The Biography of a Signer of the Declaration of Independence. Newfane, Vt., 1977.
  • Male - Mayhle, Bernard Victor. The Males of Barbour County, West Virginia. 1983.
  • Male - Barnett, Glenn W. Mayle-Male-Male Family Kinship: Four Generations of Descendants of Mary Elizabeth Male nee Cockit.
  • Male - Heinegg, Paul. Free African Americans of Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Maryland, and Delaware (2005). Digital version online
  • Male - Finley, Alexandra. "Founding Chestnut Ridge: The Origins of Central West Virginia's Community," Senior Honor's Thesis, The Ohio State University (2010). Digital version online.
  • Randolph County, West Virginia, history-families available at the Family History Library. Contains a brief history of the county, businesses, churches, historical buildings and monuments, etc., and a large section of family histories, which include biographies and genealogies. Includes Index.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See West Virginia Land and Property for additional information about early West Virginia land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

  • Land book, 1802-1900 available on microfilm at Family History Library. Microfilm of original records at the State Auditor's Office, Charleston.
  • Deeds, 1789-1900; indexes to deeds, 1789 (1776?)-1935 available on microfilm at Family History Library. Microfilm of original records at the Monongalia County Courthouse in Morgantown, West Virginia.
  • Surveyors book, 1787-1859 available on microfilm at Family History Library. Microfilm of original records at the Randolph County courthouse.
  • Entry book, 1784-1916 available on microfilm at Family History Library. Original available on microfilm at the Randolph County Courthouse.

Local Histories

WVRandolphmarker.jpg

Local histories are available for Randolph County, West Virginia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section West Virginia Local Histories.

History of Randolph County From its Earliest Exploration and Settlement to the Present Time. Dr. A. S. Bosworth. McClain Printing Company: Parsons, W.Va., 1975.

The History of Randolph County, West Virginia: From Its Earliest Settlement to the Present Embracing Records of All Leading Families, Reminiscences and Traditions. Hu Maxwell. Acme Publishing Co.: Morgantown, W.Va., 1898.

The Blackwater Chronicle: A Narrative of an Expedition into the Land of Canaan in Randolph County, Virginia. Philip Pendleton Kennedy; Timothy Sweet. West Virginia University Press: Morgantown, W.Va.. 1853.

Elkins, West Virginia: Its Past, Present, and Future. Charles J Holmes; Justin M Kunkle. McClain Printing: Parsons, W.Va. 1975.

Pioneer Index of Randolph County, West Virginia. Lauren d'Ablemont Ragland. Seneca Publishers: Bowden, W.Va. 2007.

Historick Beverly, Official Guidebook: Containing a Brief History of the City and Descriptions of Twenty-seven Shops, Dwelling Houses, Publick and Historick Sites, Illustrated: Also a Guide-map: Randolph County, West Virginia. Glenn H Phillips. Randolph County Historical Society: Beverly, W.Va. 1975.

Maps and Gazetteers

Tucker CountyGrant CountyPendleton CountyPocahontas CountyWebster CountyUpshur CountyBarbour CountyWV RANDOLPH.PNG
About this image
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Book 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Western District, Randolph County on page 136.
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.
  • Record book 1844-1866 available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Microfilm of original at the county courthouse, Elkins.
  • Discharge, 1917-1918 available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Microfilm of original records at the Randolph County courthouse.
  • The Soldiery of West Virginia. Virgil A Lewis. Genealogical Publishing Co., Baltimore, 1978. Gives available lists of rosters from French and Indian War, Mexican War, Civil War, Indian Wars, Lord Dunmore's War, Revolutionary War, and War of 1812.

War of 1812

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Randolph served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Randolph County:

- 5th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate).
- 5th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (12 months, 1861-62) (Mullins') (Confederate). Company G (Randolph Cavalry).[8]
- 19th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company I.[9]
- 20th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company C.[10].
- 31st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company F (Jacob Currence's Company).[11]

Records and histories are available, including:

Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Randolph County.

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

The Randolph Enterprise was the first newspaper published in Randolph County, with the first issue appearing in May 1874. The first editor was Geo P. Sargent.

The Randolph Review was the second newspaper published in Randolph County in 1882. The founders were J.L. and A.S. Bosworth, who after six months bought the Randolph Enterprise and sold the Review plant to the town of Huttonsville. [13]

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

How can Virginia tax lists help me?

  • 1787 - Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. FHL. The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Randolph County is included in Vol. 2.
  • 1787-1829 - Heinegg, Paul. "Randolph County Personal Property Tax List, 1787-1829," Free African Americans.com. Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.
  • 1787-1850 - Personal property tax lists, 1787-1850 available on microfilm at Family History Library. Microfilm of original records at the Virginia State Library and Archives in Richmond, Virginia.
  • 1790, 1800 - Images of the 1790 and 1800 Personal Property Tax Lists of Randolph County, Virginia(now West Virginia) are available to browse online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy - free.
  • 1805-1813 - Land records, 1805-1813 available on microfilm at Family History Library. Microfilm of original at the county courthouse, Elkins.
  • 1805-1813 - Randolph County, West Virginia Land Tax Records, 1805-1813. Images online at FamilySearch - free.
  • 1805-1813 - Land records, 1805-1813 available on microfilm at Family History Library. Microfilm of original at the county courthouse, Elkins.
  • 1815 - Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL Book 975 E4w v. 6. The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Randolph County is included in Vol. 6.

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

Birth

  • 1853-1859, 1861, 1865-1899 Births, Randolph County 1853-1859, 1861, 1865-1899 on Family Search Catalog. Microfilm of material at the West Virginia University Library, Morgantown, prepared by the Historical Records Survey.
  • 1853-1899 Births, Randolph County 1853-1899 on Family Search Catalog. Microfilm copy of material in the W. Guy Tetrick collection, Clarksburg, West Virginia, prepared by the Historical Records Survey.
  • 1853-1969 Birth records, 1853-1969 on Family Search Catalog. Microfilm of original records at the Randolph County Courthouse.

Marriage

Death

  • 1853-1969 Death records, 1853-1969 on Family Search Catalog. Microfilm of original records at the Randolph County Courthouse.

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Randolph County, West Virginia" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Randolph_County,_West_Virginia."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Randolph County, West Virginia. Page 743-746 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 742-743.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Randolph County, West Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Randolph_County,_West_Virginia, accessed 19 July 2018.
  7. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 182. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  8. Robert J. Driver, 5th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 127.
  9. Richard L. Armstrong, 19th and 20th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 101.
  10. Richard L. Armstrong, 19th and 20th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 101.
  11. John M. Ashcraft, 31st Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 48.
  12. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 20 September 2012)
  13. History of Randolph County From its Earliest Exploration and Settlement to the Present Time. Dr. A. S. Bosworth. McClain Printing Company: Parsons, W.Va., 1975.