Randolph County, North Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Randolph County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Randolph County, North Carolina|
Location in the state of North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
- 1 County Information
- 2 History
- 3 Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 Cemeteries
- 4.2 Census
- 4.3 Church Records
- 4.4 County Records
- 4.5 Court
- 4.6 Family Histories
- 4.7 Land
- 4.8 Local Histories
- 4.9 Maps
- 4.10 Military
- 4.11 Newspapers
- 4.12 Probate
- 4.13 Taxation
- 4.14 Vital Records
- 5 Societies and Libraries
- 6 Websites
- 7 References
Randolph County is located in the Central portion of North Carolina and was named for Peyton Randolph, the first president of the Continental Congress.
Randolph County, North Carolina Record Dates
Randolph County Courthouse
Asheboro, NC 27203
* Register of Deeds has birth and death records from 1913
* Marriage records from 1800 and land records
* Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records
* Probate records from 1786
Register of Deeds
P.O. Box 4458
Asheboro, NC. 27204
Clerk Superior Court
176 E Salisbury St #201
Asheboro, NC 27203
Phone: (336) 328-3000
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Many court records are missing.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|North Carolina Cemeteries|
|See North Carolina Cemeteries for more information.|
- North Carolina, Historical Records Survey, Cemetery Inscription Card Index at FamilySearch — index and images
- Mt. Pleasant United Methodist Church, Trinity, NC
For tips on accessing Randolph County, North Carolina Genealogy census records online, see: North Carolina Census.
- German - German, John L. "Finding the Father of David German of North Carolina and Shelby County, Indiana," The American Genealogist, Vol. 68, No. 2 (Apr. 1993):87-94. Digital version at American Ancestors ($).
Online Records. The Randolph County, North Carolina Register of Deeds has deed records dating back to 1779.
"View Online Records" takes you to http://22.214.171.124/RandolphNC/
"Click here to acknowledge this disclaimer" takes you to the search page.
Select "Historical (Images Only) Books 1-40 and 700-1173(Pages 1- 852)"
Click "View Images" tab, then "Book of Record", and enter book and page.
Google Chrome or Internet Explorer is preferred by the site.
SOME INDEX POINTS. The deeds are not in strict order by date.
Book 1: 1779-1793
Book 4 starts about 1787.
Book 5 starts about 1790. It begins with an index. Book 6 starts about 1794.
Book 7 starts about 1795.
Book 8 starts about 1797.
Book 9 starts about 1799. No index.
Book 10 starts about 1802. No index.
Book 12 starts about 1807. No index.
- Randolph County, 1779-1979 (1980)
- 1779 - 1782 - North Carolina Revolutionary Pay Vouchers 1779-1782 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1885 - 1953 - North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch — index and images
Regiments. Service men in Randolph County, North Carolina Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Randolph County, North Carolina Genealogy:
- - 2nd Battalion, North Carolina Infantry
- - 1st Brigade, North Carolina Reserves, Company F
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company F
- - 2nd Battalion, North Carolina Infantry, Company F
- - 6th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company A
- - 6th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company D
- - 6th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Company I
World War I
- 1917 - 1919 - North Carolina, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War II
- 1940 - 1948 - North Carolina, Discharge and Statement of Service Records, 1940-1948 at FamilySearch — index and images
Online Probate Records
- 1660 - 1790 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1663 - 1979 - North Carolina Estate Files, 1663-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1665 - 1998 - North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1735 - 1970 - North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch.org — images
- 1760 - 1800 - North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry.com — index and images
- Pre-1790 - Pre-1790 Randolph County, North Carolina Genealogy Wills stored at the North Carolina State Archives are online - free. Website tips.
- 1773 - 1964 - Will Books 1 to 25 (1773-1964) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
- Images of Wills, Estates, Inventories, Settlements, Guardianships, Deeds, Vol. 1, 1773-1993; Vol. 2, 1794-1804; Vol. 3, 1804-1812; Vol. 4, 1812-1820; Vol. 5, 1820-1829. North Carolina Pioneers ($)
- Land Docket 1779 - 1780. North Carolina Pioneers ($)
- 1779 - Tax Lists, Randolph County, 1779 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2, online at Ancestry ($)
- 1779 - Tax Lists, Randolph County, 1779 (images) online at North Carolina Digital Collections
- 1779 - Lists of Taxables, Randolph County, 1779 (images) online at FamilySearch
- 1785-1848 - List of Taxables, Randolph County, 1785-1848 (images) online at FamilySearch: Part 1 and tPart 2.
- 1815 - Tax Lists, Randolph County, 1815 (images) online at North Carolina Digital Collections
- Pre-1916 - Randolph County Births Before 1916 at USGenWeb - free.
- 1800 - 2000 - North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1866 - 1964 - North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1898 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1898-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1906 - 1930 - North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch.org — index and images
- 1908 - 2004 - North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1909 - 1975 - North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1931 - 1994 - North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1926 - 1975 - North Carolina, County Divorce Records, 1926-1975 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1958 - 2004 - North Carolina Divorce Index 1958-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1741 - 2004 - North Carolina, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1741 - 2004 - North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1759 - 1979 - North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1762 - 1979 - North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1763 - 1868 - North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch — index and images
Societies and Libraries
Randolph County Genealogical Society
PO Box 4394
Randolph County Historical Society
PO Box 4355
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Randolph County, NC History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Genealogy Inc)
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Randolph County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- "Sandy Creek Baptist Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, http://www.ncmarkers.com/, accessed 22 October 2012.
- George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:227-228. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.