Randolph County, Missouri Genealogy
Guide to Randolph County, Missouri ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Bible Records
- 2.2 Biographies
- 2.3 Business, Commerce, and Occupations
- 2.4 Cemeteries
- 2.5 Census Records
- 2.6 Church Records
- 2.7 Court Records
- 2.8 Directories
- 2.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.10 Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
- 2.11 Funeral Homes
- 2.12 Genealogies
- 2.13 Guardianship
- 2.14 Land and Property Records
- 2.15 Local Histories
- 2.16 Maps and Gazetteers
- 2.17 Migration
- 2.18 Military Records
- 2.19 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.20 Newspapers
- 2.21 Obituaries
- 2.22 Other Records
- 2.23 Periodicals
- 2.24 Probate Records
- 2.25 School Records
- 2.26 Tax Records
- 2.27 Vital Records
- 3 Research Facilities
- 4 Societies
- 5 Websites
- 6 Research Guides
- 7 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for John Randolph of Roanoke. The County is located in the north center area of the state.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Randolph County Courthouse
110 S Main Street
Huntsville, MO 65259
Randolph County Website
County Recorder has marriage and land records.
Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce records.
Probate Court has probate records.
Randolph County, Missouri Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
1882 Courthouse burned on August 12, 1882. Some records were destroyed; deed index from 1829 survived.
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places in Randolph County, MO, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator.
The State Historical Society of Missouri has information on historical Missouri place names for all 114 Missouri Counties.
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- Randolph County, Missouri, Cemetery Records and Histories, Vol. IV (1-6) & Vol.V (1-2) at Ancestry ($)
- Randolph County, Missouri Cemetery Records, Vol. 3 at Ancestry ($)
- Missouri Cemeteries Missouri Access Genealogy
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1732-1933 Missouri State and Territorial Census Records, 1732-1933 at FamilySearch — index and images
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page. List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1800-1991 Missouri, County Marriage, Naturalization, and Court Records, 1800-1991 at FamilySearch — index and images
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Randolph County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.
- History of Randolph and Macon Counties. 1884. St. Louis, Missouri : National Historical. Available online at FamilySearch
- History of Randolph County, Missouri. By Alexander H. Waller. 1920. Topeka, Kan. : Historical Pub. Co. Available online at FamilySearch
- An Illustrated Historical Atlas of Randolph County, Missouri. 1876. Philadelphia, Pa. : Edwards Brothers of Missouri. Available online at FamilySearch
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- 1900-1941 Missouri, Pre-WWII Adjutant General Enlistment Contracts, 1900-1941 at FamilySearch — images
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 Missouri, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 Missouri, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1911-1938 Missouri, Confederate Pension Applications and Soldiers Home Applications, 1911-1938 at FamilySearch — index and images
Service men in Randolph County, Missouri served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Randolph County, Missouri:
- 4th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company A
- 46th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 Missouri, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1941-1946 Missouri, Reports of Separation Notices, 1941-1946 at FamilySearch — index
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1800-1991 Missouri, County Marriage, Naturalization, and Court Records, 1800-1991 at FamilySearch — index
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- Moberly Monitor-Index (Moberly, Missouri) at Ancestry ($)
- Moberly Weekly Monitor (Moberly, Missouri) at Ancestry ($)
- Magic City Free Press (Moberly, Missouri) at Ancestry ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.
Online Probate Records
- 1750-1988 Missouri Probate Records 1750-1998 at FamilySearch — images
- 1766-1988 Missouri Wills and Probate Records 1766-1988 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
- 1836-1858 Randolph County, Missouri Administration and Wills: 1836-1858 at Ancestry ($)
School Records[edit | edit source]
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.
St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births. The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1817-1939 Missouri Births, 1817-1939 at FamilySearch — index
- 1827-1935 Missouri, Births and Christenings, 1827-1935 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837, 1854-1867 Randolph County Birth Index 1837, 1854-1867. Batch C515651 at FamilySearch.
- 1851-1910 Missouri Birth Records, 1851-1910 at Ancestry — index/images ($)
- 1884 Randolph County Birth Index 1884. Batch C582473 at FamilySearch.
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1750-1920 Missouri, Marriages, 1750-1920 at FamilySearch — index
- 1776-1988 Missouri, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1800-1991 Missouri, County Marriage, Naturalization, and Court Records, 1800-1991 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1805-2002 Missouri, Marriage Records, 1805-2002 at Ancestry ($)
- 1829-1859 Randolph County, Missouri Marriage Records, 1829-1859 at Ancestry ($)
- 1829-1881 Randolph County Marriage Index 1829-1881. Batch M515651 at FamilySearch.
- 1850 Missouri Marriages to 1850 at Ancestry — index ($)
- 1881-1885 Randolph County Marriage Index 1881-1885. Batch M515652 at FamilySearch.
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1834-1910 Missouri, Death Records, 1834-1910 at Ancestry — index/images ($)
- 1867-1976 Missouri, Deaths and Burials, 1867-1976 at FamilySearch — index
- 1883-1884 Randolph County Death Index, Volume A, 1883-1884. Batch B582473 at FamilySearch.
- 1883-1930 Missouri Deaths, 1883-1930 at FamilySearch — index and images
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
- Randolph County Historical Society
223 N Clark Street
Moberly, MO 65270
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Missouri Digital Heritage. Free. digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
- MOGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
- USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
- Roxann Gess Website. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals.
- FamilySearch Catalog . Free. - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
- RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
- Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
- CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
- StateofUS. Free. family history resources and government records
- Missouri Genealogy. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Randolph, Missouri," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Randolph_County,_Missouri. accessed 9/13/2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Randolph County, Missouri. Page 397-407 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 393-397.
- Wikipedia contributors, "Randolph County, Missouri," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, Randolph County Missouri, accessed Nov 2019.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/f/f4/Igimissourir.pdf.