Randolph County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Randolph County

Guide to Randolph County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Randolph County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Randolph County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 20, 1828
County Seat Cuthbert
Courthouse
Address Randolph County Courthouse]
208 Court Street
Cuthbert, GA 31740
Phone:  229.732.6440 
Randolph County Website


County Information

Randolph County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Randolph County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate

1835

1830
1830
1835

County Courthouse

Randolph County Courthouse
208 Court Street
Cuthbert, GA 31740
Phone:  229.732.6440 

Probate Court has court has marriage, probate records from 1835; Clerk superior court has divorce and land records from 1835[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
93 Front Street
P.O. Box 98
Cuthbert, GA 39840
Phone: (229) 732-2216
Fax: (229) 732-5881

Probate Court of Randolph County
P.O. Box 424
Cuthbert, GA 39840
Phone: 229-732-2671

History

Parent County

1828--Randolph County was created 20 December 1828 fromLee County.  County seat: Cuthbert [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

1828: Randolph County created from Lee County

1830: Stewart County created from Randolph County

1854: Clay County Created from Randolph County

1856: Terrell County Created from Randolph County

1858: Quitman County created from Randolph County

1932: Calhoun County gained from Randolph County

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Calhoun County  • Clay County  • Quitman County  • Stewart County  • Terrell County  • Webster County

Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Randolph, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Randolph County cemeteries.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

  • Randolph County Historical Society. Randolph County, Georgia. Fernandina Beach, Florida.: Wolfe Pub., c1997, 1999. Available at the Family History Library.
  • Suarez, Annette McDonald. A source book on the early history of Cuthbert and Randolph County, Georgia. Atlanta, Georgia.: Cherokee, c1982. Available at the Family History Library.

Local histories are available for Randolph County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Garandolph.jpg

Military

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Randolph County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Randolph County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 2nd Battalion, Georgia Cavalry (Confederate) , Company G
- 5th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 11th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 13th Battalion, Georgia Infantry (State Guards) (Confederate), Company E
- 13th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- 47th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company B
- 51st Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- 55th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Companies A, G and H
- 64th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company H
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project


  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Randolph County). 1962. Pension records. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 271278
  • Aldridge, Christine. 1994. Early miscellaneous Georgia records. Nacogdoches, Tex: Printed & distributed by Partin Publications. (read the index) 975.8 H29

Naturalization

Newspapers

  • Evans, Tad. Georgia Newspaper Clippings, Randolph County Extracts. Savannah, GA.: 2012. Available at the Family History Library.

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Randolph County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
  • 1875 - 1877 - Randolph County Birth Index 1875-1877. Batch C713561 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • 1875 - 1877 - Randolph County Births: 1875-1877 Georgia Pioneers $
Marriage Records
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Randolph Historical Society
Route 1, Box 1005
Shellman, GA 31786
Mail: PO Box 456
Cuthbert, GA 31740
Telephone Number:912-679-5165
Website


Southwest Georgia Genealogical Society
PO Box 4672
Albany, GA 31706
Website


Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Randolph County, Georgia. Page 159 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 50-51. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.