Randolph County, Alabama Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Alabama
Randolph County

Guide to Randolph County, Alabama ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Randolph County, Alabama
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 18, 1832
County Seat Wedowee
Courthouse
Randolph County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Address Randolph County Courthouse
P O Box 249
Wedowee, Al 36278
Phone: 256-357-4933 County Website


County Information

Randolph County, Alabama Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1886 1896 1886 1830 1897 1897

County Courthouse

Probate Judge has birth and death records from 1886
marriage records from 1896, land and probate records from 1897
and military pensions 1904-1909 [2]

Description

The County was named in honor of James Randolph, a Virginia congressman. The County has Wedowee as its seat and the County was created December 18, 1832. [3]The County is located in the east central area of the state.[4]

History

Parent County

1832--Randolph County was created 18 December 1832 from the Creek Cession of 1832.
County seat: Wedowee [5]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Fire.png
Randolph County had a destructive courthouse fire in 1897. See Research in Alabama: A Genealogical Guide  page 29 for suggested alternative sources to overcome this loss.[6]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Alrandolph.jpg

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Randolph, Alabama online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Alabama Cemeteries for more information

The following web site has additional information on Randolph county cemeteries.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
18404,973
185011,581132.9%
186020,05973.2%
187012,006−40.1%
188016,57538.1%
189017,2193.9%
190021,64725.7%
191024,65913.9%
192027,0649.8%
193026,861−0.8%
194025,516−5.0%
195022,513−11.8%
196019,477−13.5%
197018,331−5.9%
198020,0759.5%
199019,881−1.0%
200022,38012.6%
201022,9132.4%
For tips on accessing Randolph County, Alabama Genealogy census records online, see: Alabama Census.
  • Gandrud, Pauline Jones. 1840 Federal Census of Randolph County, Alabama. 1947. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

State Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

To see a list of church records, go to Randolph County ALGHN.

Court Records

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Randolph County, Alabama Genealogy see:

  • Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Randolph County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2011. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes free surname index. FHL Book 976.157 E7b.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Randolph County, Alabama Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

Maps

Military 

Civil War

Civil War service men from Randolph County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of RandolphCounty.

- 1st Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company I
- 7th Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company A and G
- 13th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E and I
- 14th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K "Louina Guards"
- 17th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E (Dowdelll Rangers)
- 22nd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F and G
- 25th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F
- 30th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G
- 31st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H
- 44th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company I
- 46th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G and K
- 59th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F

Online Records

The 1866 Alabama State Census for Randolph County includes columns for soldiers killed or died of disease.

Newspapers

RANDOLPH COUNTY NEWSPAPER RECORDS

Randolph County, Alabama Newspapers

===== Finding More Alabama Newspapers =====

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Randolph County, Alabama Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Randolph County, Alabama Genealogy Probate Court. Most records are housed at the Randolph County, Alabama Genealogy Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Randoolph County is in District 2.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records


Birth Records
Marriage Records
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1888, 1896-1900, 1925, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
  • 1896-1900 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.


Death Records
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.

The 1866 Alabama State Census for Randolph County includes columns for soldiers killed or died of disease.

Voting Registers

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History.  Randolph County has one book.

Societies and Libraries

AlaBenton Genealogical Society
c/o The Alabama Room
P. O. Box 308
Anniston, AL
36202
Publication: AlaBenton Genealogical Quarterly
Website Website

Libraries

Annie L Awbrey Public Library
263 College Street
Roanoke Alabama 36274
Telephone: 334-863-2632
Website

Collections include books on genealogy and local history.

Public Library of Anniston - Calhoun County
108 E. 10th St.
Anniston, Alabama 36201
Telephone: 256-237-8501

Collections include local history and genealogical records of Randolph County.

Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Family History Centre Locator

Randolph County Alabama Genealogy Websites

Randolph County Alabama Genealogy References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 13-28. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Randolph County p. 39. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Genealogy Trails History Group, "Randolph County, Alabama Genealogy and History", http://genealogytrails.com/ala/randolph/ 6/26/2017.
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Randolph, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Randolph_County,_Alabama 6/26/2017.
  5. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  6. Marilyn Davis Barefield, Researching in Alabama: a Genealogical Guide (Birmingham, Alabama : Birmingham Public Library, 1998), 29. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Book 976.1 D27b 1998.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/c/cf/Igialabamals.pdf.