To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Randaberg (Randeberg) Parish, Rogaland, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Randaberg, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records

Randaberg (Randeberg) Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/Diocese add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Stavanger
Amt 1689-1919 1662-1682: Stavanger stiftamt,
1682-1919: Stavanger amt
Fylke 1919-Present Rogaland
Region add here
Prestegjeld Hetland
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Hetland
Fogderi Jæderen og Dalene
Sorenskriveri Jæderen
Skipreide add here


Church Books[edit | edit source]

Contain priest and sexton records from the parishes Hetland (Frue), Riska (Riskekverven) and Randaberg (Randeberg). They were separated from the combined Stavanger clerical district in 1849. Earlier church records are in the Cathedral church parish (Domkirken) in Stavanger city. Riskekverven (Riska) was separated from Frue and became its own parish in 1877.

Transcripts of church records of christenings 1688-1815 and births 1816-1839 for Stavanger including Hetland and Randaberg. These records are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarket.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • [hthttps://beta.familysearch.org/s/catalog/show?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fcatalog.familysearch.org%3A8080%2Fwww-catalogapi-webservice%2Fitem%2F400192&hash=Z2%252BVq1TxSXIBQIJDbkvdUCWyCJM%253D 1664-1666 Census - Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666] Microfilm

This census was taken by the local parish priests. It lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.

1663-1666 Census for Stavanger district Database

The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. May also include the residence of a male servant if he came from a different clerical district.

Manntallet 1701 for Stavanger amt Database

The 1801 census (b. 38) for Hetland clerical district includes Hetland, Frue, and Randaberg (Randeberg) parishes. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation.

1801-telling for Stavanger Database

This census contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, martial status, place of birth, age, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book.

1865-telling for Stavanger Database

This 1875 census contains the persons name, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information

This census contains the persons name, sex, whether resident or temporary resident, those absent from the parish and their location at the time of the census, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information.

1900-telling for Stavanger Database

Court Records[edit | edit source]

The court records contain reports of civil and criminal actions, including the allodial rights, a system of ownership by which an owner has all rights associated with possessing a property. You will find names, dates, places, and relationships in these records. The records have no indexes, and therefore require time to study. They are excellent sources for genealogical research and at times you can find entire families through several generations. These records must be used in conjunction with the mortgage records, probate records, or other records.

Court records at the Family History Library, 1613-1701

These records are for Jæren and Dalane judicial districts which include these places: Hetland (Frue), Høyland, Klepp, Time (Lye), Håland, Ogna, Sandnes, Helleland, Egersund, Lund, Sokndal, Heskestad, , Bjerkreim, Randaberg, Sola, Madla, Varhaug, Nærbø, and Gjestal in Rogaland county.

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Availability[edit | edit source]

Jæren og Dalane judicial district
*1666-1822 Family History Library
*1667-1860 Digitalarkivet
*1666-1815 Probate card indexes sorted by farm name Digitalarkivet

Jæren judicial district
*1763-1821 Family History Library
*1859-1896 Digitalarkivet.

Jæren deanery
*1763-1821 Clerical probate records Family History Library
*1763-1821 Digitalarkivet.

Randaberg police station
*1965-1972 death protocol Digitalarkivet

Farm Book[edit | edit source]

Histories of farms and vital information on farm residents in Randaberg, Rogaland co., Norway. Inhold: b. 1. Gard og ætt -- b. 2. Gard og ætt -- b. 3. Kultursoga til 1945 -- b. 4. Bilete gjennom 100 år -- b. 5. Kultursoga frå 1945 - 1996.

Lindanger, Birger, "Randaberg," Randaberg: Randaberg Kommune, 1983-1988. 948.31/R2 D2L 5 vols. FHL INTL Book A history of Randaberg in Hetland clerical district in Rogaland county with some genealogy. Farm name indexes to volumes 1 and 2 are found in the following links. File:948.31-R2 D2L V1 - Randaberg.pdf, File:948.31-R2 D2L V2 - Randaberg.pdf

Rolfsen, Peter, "Randaberg sogns historie," Stavanger, Norway: S. Undems boktrykkeri, 1928 948.31/R2 H2r FHL INTL Book

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

49 Bergsagel, 54 Bø indre

60 Goe vestre, 59 Grindemyren, 48 Grødeim

62 Haaland, 56 Hagen, 49 Harestad,

60 Kvernevigen

63 Leigvold

62 Mjelkeholen

49 Nyvold

51 Randeberg, 58 Raustein, 47 Rygg

53 Sande, 57 Sletten

50 Todneim, 52 Tunge,

49 Varden, 59 Viste, 57 Vistnes, 56 Vistvig

50 Østvold

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names