Ramsbury with Axford, Wiltshire Genealogy
Guide to Ramsbury with Axford, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Ramsbury with Axford, Wiltshire|
|Poor Law Union||Hungerford|
|Parish registers: 1678|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1589|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Salisbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Wiltshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
RAMSBURY, a village, a parish, and a hundred of Ramsbury, Marlborough and Ramsbury in Wiltshire. The village stands on the river Kennet, 4 miles N by W of Bedwyn railway station, and 5 W N W of Hungerford. The parish contains also the Tything of Axford, Eastridge, and Whittonditch, and the places called Park-Town, Madridge-Hill, Newtown, Elmdown, and Lamplands; and is in Hungerford district.There are places of worship for Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans.   
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Ramsbury with Axford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Ramsbury with Axford Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 633-638. Date accessed: 09 October 2013.
- From: 'Rame - Rapps', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 633-638. British HistoryDate accessed: 09 October 2013.
- John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72)