Rame, Cornwall Genealogy
Guide to Rame, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records
Rame St Germanus Cornwall
|Poor Law Union||St Germans|
|Registration District||St Germans|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1813|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall|
|Location of Archive|
|Cornwall Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
RAME (St. German), a parish, in the union of St. Germans, S. division of the hundred of East, E. division of Cornwall, 4½ miles (S. S. W.) from Devonport. 
Rame (Cornish: Hordh) St Germanus is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall. Other places in the parish included: Causand or Cawsand. Originally Cawsand was in the parish of Rame, but now has its own church in the village. The neighbouring church at Maker is in the same parish as Rame. Together they are called 'Maker-with-Rame' parish.
The church in the hamlet is dedicated to St. Germanus, the fighting bishop who is supposed to have landed in the neighbourhood when he came to Britain to suppress the Pelagian heresy in 400 A.D. It is all built of rough slate: the present stone building was consecrated in 1259. The slender, un-buttressed tower with its broached spire (an unusual feature in a Cornish church), the north wall and the chancel are all probably of this date, when the church was cruciform in shape. A south aisle was added in the 15th century and the Norman tympanum is a relic of the earlier church building on the site.The church is not supplied by electricity, and is lit by candles.
Maker with Rame, United Parish in the Diocese of Truro is the modern parish name.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Rame parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Rame Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Cornwall Record Office.
Cornwall Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]
An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish. The Online Parish Clerk for Rame also contributes to a website, which includes the following parishes on the Rame Peninsula:
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable websites are:
- England Jurisdictions 1851
- Vision of Britain
Websites[edit | edit source]
Rame in GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 633-638. Date accessed: 20 March 2013.
- Searching Parish Records online (Cornwall) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.