Raleigh County, West Virginia Genealogy
Guide to Raleigh County, West Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Raleigh County, West Virginia|
Location in the state of West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
|Founded||January 23, 1850|
|Address|| Raleigh County Courthouse|
215 Main Street
Beckley, WV 25801
Raleigh County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places / Localities
- 5 Resources
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Family History Centers
- 8 Websites
- 9 References
Raleigh County, West Virginia Record Dates
County Clerk has birth, marriage, death records form 1850
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records
For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities
Raleigh countyCities and Towns
Raleigh County, West Virginia Landmarks
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See West Virginia Cemeteries for more information.|
- Random Acts WV Cemetery Records Research Guide
For tips on accessing Raleigh County, West Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: West Virginia Census.
Turner, David Anderson. Families of Raleigh County, (West) Virginia: The 1850 Census Annotated. Madison, W.Va.: D.A. Turner, 1982. Available online, courtesy: Prince William County Virginia website.
1880 Raleigh County, West Virginia Census
Raleigh County, West Virginia Bible Records (USGENWEB)
Raleigh County, West Virginia Churches (USGENWEB)
- Webb - Turner, Ronald Ray. Webb Families of the Virginias. 2007. Available online, courtesy: Raleigh County West Virginia GenWeb.
Raleigh County, West Virginia Maps
Raleigh County, West Virginia
Big Maps Fayette County, West Virginia Map
Regiments. Service men in Raleigh County, West Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Raleigh County, West Virginia Genealogy:
- - 30th Battalion, Virginia Sharpshooters (Clarke's) (Confederate). Company A.
- - 34th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Witcher's Battalion, Virginia Mounted Rifles) (Confederate). Company K.
Records and histories are available, including:
- 1861-1865 - West Virginia Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- Turner, Ronald Ray. 7th West Virginia Cavalry. Manassas, Va.: R.R. Turner, 1989. Available online, courtesy: Raleigh County West Virginia GenWeb. Includes biographical sketches of soldiers from Raleigh County.
- Beckley Post-Herald (Beckley, West Virginia) at Ancestry.com ($)
- Raleigh Register (Beckley, West Virginia) at Ancestry.com ($)
- Post-Herald And Register (Beckley, West Virginia) at Ancestry.com ($)
ATT: Libby Walker - Archives
801 N. Kanawha Street
P. O. Drawer P or R
Beckley, WV 25802
Online Probate Records
- 1724 - 1978 West Virginia Wills and Probate Records 1724-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1756 - 1971 West Virginia Will Books 1756-1971 at [https:/familysearch.org/ FamilySearch] — index and images
Raleigh County, West Virginia Will Books 1850 - 1969
West Virginia Will Books
Raleigh County, West VirginiaWills Courtesy The Riffe-Smith Collection
Raleigh County, West Virginia Obituaries
Online West Virginia Tax site
West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.
Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.
The search for tax information can start here
West Virginia Vital Records: Birth, Death, Marriages . Includes marriages 1890-1969 - free.
- Raleigh County Births, 1853-75 at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1850-1911 - Turner, Ronald Ray. Raleigh County, West Virginia Marriages 1850-1911. 1984. Available online, courtesy: Raleigh County West Virginia GenWeb.
- 1851-1861 - Virginia Marriages 1851-1861 (Ancestry) ($).
- Turner, Ronald Ray. Raleigh County West Virginia Marriages From Other Counties. Available online, courtesy: Prince William County Virginia website.
Societies and Libraries
- Raleigh County Public Library:
- Main Branch
221 N. Kanawha St.
Beckley, WV 25801
Family History Centers
Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center. The closest family history centers are in the Huntington Family History Center and the Charleston Family History Center
- Raleigh County, WV History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- West Virginia Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- West Virginia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- FamilySearch Catalog
- CYNDI'S List West Virginia
- Raleigh County Records from The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints
Learning How to Edit our Wiki Sites
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Raleigh County, West Virginia. Page 745 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Ronald R. Turner, 7th West Virginia Cavalry (Manassas, Va.: R.R. Turner, 1989). Digital version at Raleigh County West Virginia GenWeb; FHL Book 975.4 M2t.
- Michael West, 30th Battalion Virginia Sharpshooters (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1995). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 108.
- Scott C. Cole, 34th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 94.