Rainton, Durham Genealogy
Guide to Rainton, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
West Rainton St Mary Co Durham
|Poor Law Union||Houghton le Spring|
|Registration District||Houghton le Spring|
|Parish registers: 1825|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1825|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
RAINTON, EAST, a township, in the parish and union of Houghton-le-Spring, N division of Easington ward and of the county of Durham; formerly called Reynington. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. 
RAINTON, WEST, a township, in the parish and union of Houghton-le-Spring, N division of Easington ward and of the county of Durham, 4¼ miles NE from Durham. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. 
Additional information: St Mary West Rainton was built as a parish church in 1864, but the chapelry of Rainton built in 1825 was a chapelry within the parish of Houghton le Spring, Durham. The chapelry and parish included Cocken, Moorhouse and West Rainton. The parish was created by order in Council 15 May 1838.
St Cuthbert East Rainton was created as a parish in 1866 from West Rainton St Mary parish. Subsequently the parishes of Chilton Moor St Andrew (1872) and Moorsley St Oswald (circa 1947) were created from its boundaries.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Rainton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Rainton Online Parish Records|
|FS Marr Img||1594-1815|
|FS Catalog PRs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Durham County Record Office.
Non Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Primitive Methodist
- Roman Catholic
- The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Rainton (see Houghton le Srping) on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2103.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2103.
- Searching Parish Records online (Durham) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.