Racton with Lordington, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Racton with Lordington, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Racton with Lordington, Sussex|
|Hundred||Westbourne and Singleton|
|Poor Law Union||Westbourne|
|Parish registers: 1680|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1601|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
RACTON, (St Peter) a parish, in the union of West Bourne, hundred of Westbourne and Singleton, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 6½ miles (N. W. by W.) from Chichester. The church is principally in the early English style, and contains several interesting monuments to the Gocenter family. Sir Richard Pole, and Margaret, Countess of Salisbury, his wife, resided at Lordington; where, also, Cardinal Pole was born. The living of Lordington was united to that of Racton in 1440.
Racton with Lordington is an Ancient Parish and part of the parish boundary forms the county boundary with neighbor Redhill, Hampshire. The hamlet of Racton is within the civil parish of Stoughton within the Chichester District of West Sussex.
The church of St Peter has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Racton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|Racton Parish Online Records|
Forestside parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Forestside Parish Online Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Racton with Lordington
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
See Sussex Census
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel, A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 627-630. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.