Racine County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin
Racine County


Guide to Racine County, Wisconsin ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Racine
Organized: December 7, 1836
Parent County(s): Milwaukee[1]
Neighboring Counties
Kenosha  • Milwaukee  • Walworth  • Waukesha
See County Maps
Courthouse
Racine County CourtHouse WI.jpg
Location Map
WI Racine.png
Adoption

County Information

Description

The County has Racine as its seat and the County was created December 7, 1836. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse

Racine County Courthouse
730 Wisconsin Avenue
Racine, WI 53403
Phone: 262-636-3121
Racine County Website

Register of Deeds has birth records from 1876, marriage and land records from 1837, death records from 1853 and veterans records from 1918.
Family Court has divorce records from 1940.
Probate Court has probate records 1846.
Clerk of Court has court records from 1970. [3]

Racine County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1876 1837 1853 1970 1837 1846 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1907. General compliance year unknown.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • 1836--Racine County was created 7 December 1836 from Milwaukee County.
  • County seat: Racine[5]

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

The following are locations in Racine County, Wisconsin:

History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Racine County, Wisconsin online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1840 3,475
1850 14,973 330.9%
1860 21,360 42.7%
1870 26,740 25.2%
1880 30,922 15.6%
1890 36,268 17.3%
1900 45,644 25.9%
1910 57,424 25.8%
1920 78,961 37.5%
1930 90,217 14.3%
1940 94,047 4.2%
1950 109,585 16.5%
1960 141,781 29.4%
1970 170,838 20.5%
1980 173,132 1.3%
1990 175,034 1.1%
2000 188,831 7.9%
2010 195,408 3.5%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing Racine census records online, see: Wisconsin Census.

State Census

  • 1855 - 1855 Wisconsin State Census This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.
  • 1865 - 1865 Wisconsin State Census Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan.
  • 1875 - 1875 Wisconsin State Census Identifies head of household by name.
  • 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.Identifies by name of head of household. Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth.
  • 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical.
  • 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants.

Federal Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wisconsin denominations, view the Wisconsin Church Records wiki page.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Racine

Lutheran

  • Records of United Evangelical Lutheran Church, Racine, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Germans

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Wisconsin Land and Property for additional information about early Wisconsin land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

  • Wisconsin Land Patents Database, Racine County (USGenWeb Archives)

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

WI RACINE.JPG

Migration

Military Records

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Racine served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Racine:

- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company G
- 5th Independent Battery, Wisconsin Light Artillery
- 8th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company K
- 9th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company E
- 15th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company C

Spanish-American War

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Racine Clerk of Circuit Court and are housed at the Racine Courthouse. See the wiki page Wisconsin Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, and adoptions.

Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Wisconsin tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned property or other items that could be taxed were listed, some residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records. For more information see the Wiki page, Wisconsin Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Most counties started keeping records in the 1870s. In 1907, the counties began sending copies to the state.

For pre-1907 births, deaths, and marriages, search the Wisconsin Genealogy Index.

For additional information, see Wisconsin Vital Records.

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

  • Archives and Area Research Center
    University of Wisconsin, Parkside Library
    900 Wood Rd.
    Kenosha, WI 53144
    Telephone: 262-595-2411
    Email: archives@uwp.edu
    Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

  • University of Wisconsin, Parkside Library
    Archives and Area Research Center
    900 Wood Rd.
    Kenosha, WI 53144
    Telephone: 262-595-2411
    Email: archives@uwp.edu
    Website

Museums

Societies

  • Racine Heritage Association
    701 S Main St
    Racine, WI 53403-1211
    Website
  • Burlington Genealogical Society
    PO Box 593
    Burlington, WI 53105-0593
    website
  • Burlington Historical Society
    232 N Perkins Blvd
    Burlington, WI 53105
    Phone: 262-767-2884
    Website
  • Racine County Historical Society
    701 S Main St
    Racine, WI 53403-1211
    Phone: 262-636-3926
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Racine County, Wisconsin " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Racine_County,_Wisconsin."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Racine County, Wisconsin. Page 755-760, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 757-759.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.