To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Río Hondo, Zacapa, Guatemala Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Municipality of Río Hondo ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.

History[edit | edit source]

  • In Spanish colonial times Omoa was the only port near Guatemala on the entire Atlantic coast. To get to the province of Guatemala, small ships were used that carried products through the Motagua River, which was only navigable to Gualán. The products were transported in canoes to Tocoy Tzima to finally transport them in yokes to Guatemala City. Rio Hondo was counted among the settlements that settled on the edge of this commercial route.
  • After the Independence of Central America in 1821, he was assigned to the Zacapa circuit.
  • According to the constitution the town of Río Hondo had to belong to the Zacapa circuit.
  • The municipality of Río Hondo has a population of approximately 18,000 people[1]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Catalog English.jpg

Parish Records[edit | edit source]

  • There are no records for only the municipality of Río Hondo. See the records of neighboring municipalities.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • There are no records for only the municipality of Río Hondo. See the records of neighboring municipalities.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

  • Cementerio Municipal de Río Hondo
  • Cementerio de la Aldea de Santa Cruz
  • Cementerio Jones
  • Cementerio Las Pozas
  • Cementerio La Palma
  • Cementerio Chan Chan
  • Cementerio El Rosario

Localities[edit | edit source]

  • Casa De Pinto
  • Casas de Pinto
  • El Cenagal
  • Chanchan
  • Las Delicias
  • La Espinilla
  • Jesus Maria
  • Jones
  • Jumuzna
  • Llano Largo
  • Llano Verde
  • Lo De Mejía
  • Mal Paso
  • Monte Grande
  • Morán
  • Ojo De Agua
  • La Palma
  • Panaluya
  • Pata Galana
  • La Pepesca
  • El Peton
  • Las Pozas
  • El Rosario
  • Santa Cruz
  • Santa Rosalia
  • Sunzapote
  • Tabacal
  • Llano Verde
  • Yajal

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia Collaborators, "Río Hondo (Zacapa)," In Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/R%C3%ADo_Hondo_(Zacapa). Visited 2 October 2017.