Quitman County, Georgia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Georgia
Quitman County

Guide to Quitman County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Quitman County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Quitman County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded December 10, 1858
County Seat Georgetown
Courthouse
Address Quitman County Courthouse]
PO Box 114
Georgetown, GA 31754-0114
Phone: 912.334.2578 
Quitman County Website


County Information

Quitman County, Georgia Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Quitman County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1927
1879

1860
1879
1879


County Courthouse

Quitman County Courthouse
PO Box 114
Georgetown, GA 31754-0114
Phone: 912.334.2578 

Clerk Superior Court has birth records from 1927, marriage records from 1919, divorce records, and court records from 1923 and land records  from 1879[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
111 Main St., Suite 2
P.O. Box 307
Georgetown, GA 39854
Phone: (229) 334-2578
Fax: (229) 334-3991

Probate Court of Quitman County
P.O. Box 7
Georgetown, GA 39854
Phone: 229-334-2224

History

Parent County

1858--Quitman County was created 10 December 1858 fromRandolph and Stewart Counties.
 County seat: Georgetown [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

Fire.png
1921 The courthouse at Georgetown burned 1 February 1921. Almost all county records were lost.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Barbour County, Alabama  • Clay County  • Henry County, Alabama  • Randolph County  • Stewart County

Error: Image is invalid or non-existent.


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries of Quitman, Georgia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Georgia Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Quitman County cemeteries.

Census

Church Records

Court

Court Records

Administration & Guardianship Bonds
  • Bland, Jasper Orphans David and Jasper (Bond) 1899
  • Bland, Mary J. Belcher (Guardianship) 1872
  • Dowdy, Woodson H. Orphans (Guardianship) 1865
  • Guerry, T. S. (Guardianship) 1865
  • Griffin, Lunsford Eleanor and children (Exemplification) 1864
  • Guilford, J. M. (Guardianship) 1894
  • Harrison, William Orphans (Guardianship) 1866
  • Kaigler, Orphans (Guardianship) 1898
  • Matthews, Lucy C. and John W. (Guardianship) 1864
  • Moore, William F. (Guardianship) 1864
  • Ogletree, J. E. (Request to Sell Land) 1893
  • Phillips, J. E. (Guardianship)
  • Slayton, Mary (Bond) 1864
  • Whitaker, John Bland Minors (Estate) 1898 [4]

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Quitman County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Gaquitman.jpg

Military

War of 1812

1883 Pensioners

Civil War

Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Quitman County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Quitman County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 11th Regiment Company I
- 11th Ga Regiment Company I History
- 51st Regiment Company G
- 53rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry
- 61st Regiment Company F


World War I

Tye, J. P. WWI Draft 1917
World War I from "The Quitman Echo" [5]

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Quitman County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage Records
Death Records
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Southwest Georgia Genealogical Society
PO Box 4672
Albany, GA 31706
Website



Family History Centers

Family history centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See family history center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Quitman County, Georgia. Page 159 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 50. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. http://usgwarchives.net/ga/quitman/court.html
  5. http://usgwarchives.net/ga/quitman/military.html
  6. fckLRUSGW archivesfckLR
  7. fckLRUSGW archivesfckLR
  8. fckLRUSGW archivesfckLR
  9. fckLRUSGW archivesfckLR