Queen Anne's County, Maryland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Maryland
Queen Anne's County

Guide to Queen Anne's County, Maryland ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Centreville
Organized: April 9, 1706
Parent County(s): Talbot[1]
Variant Spellings: Queen Anne[2]
Neighboring Counties
Anne Arundel  • Caroline  • Kent  • Talbot  • Kent (DE)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Queen Anne's County, Maryland Courthouse.JPG
Location Map
MD Queen Anne's map.png
Adoption
Queen Anne of Great Britain

County Information

Description

The County was named for Queen Anne. The County has Centreville as its seat and the County was created 1706. The County is located in the northeast area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse

Queen Anne's County Courthouse
107 N. Liberty St.
Centreville, MD 21617
Phone: 410-758-1773
Queen Anne's County Website

Clerk of the Courts has marriage, divorce, court and land records.
Orphan's Court has probate records.[4]

Queen Anne's County, Maryland Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1898 1898 1714 1706 1790

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Populated Places

The following are locations in the county:[6]

Towns
Unincorporated communites
Census-designated places


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Queen Anne's County, Maryland online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Maryland Cemeteries for more information

  For a more detailed list, including addresses, phone numbers, and external links, see Queen Anne's County, Maryland Cemeteries.

  • Rochester Cemetery
  • Rochester Memorial Garden
  • Saint Peter's Cemetery
  • Stevensville Cemetery
  • Sudlersville Cemetery
  • Thomas Cemetery
  • Union Cemetery
  • Wesley Cemetery
  • Wye of Carmichael Cemetery

Census Records

For tips on accessing Queen Anne's County, Maryland Genealogy census records online, see: Maryland Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1790 15,463
1800 14,857 −3.9%
1810 16,648 12.1%
1820 14,952 −10.2%
1830 14,397 −3.7%
1840 12,633 −12.3%
1850 14,484 14.7%
1860 15,961 10.2%
1870 16,171 1.3%
1880 19,257 19.1%
1890 18,461 −4.1%
1900 18,364 −0.5%
1910 16,839 −8.3%
1920 16,001 −5.0%
1930 14,571 −8.9%
1940 14,476 −0.7%
1950 14,579 0.7%
1960 16,569 13.6%
1970 18,422 11.2%
1980 25,508 38.5%
1990 33,953 33.1%
2000 40,563 19.5%
2010 47,798 17.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Federal Census reports available 1790-1930 including slave and veterans schedules.

Church Records

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

The New Early Settlers of Maryland database is a great place to start searching for immigrants who had arrived in the colony by the 1680s. The database "comprises entries from Gust Skordas' Early Settlers of Maryland and Carson Gibb's Supplement to the Early Settlers of Maryland." Available online, courtesy: Maryland State Archives.

Other Queen Anne's County immigration resources include:

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

  • Barnes, Robert W., F. Edward Wright, Vernon L. Skinner and Henry C. Peden. Colonial Families of the Eastern Shore of Maryland. 23 vols. Westminster, Md.: Family Line, 1996-2003; Lewes, Del.: Delmarva Roots and Colonial Roots, 2007. FHL US/CAN Book 975.21 D2b v. 1 ff. Queen Anne's County families appear in Vols. 4-5, 7, 13, and 21.
  • [Brown] Brown, John B. "The Posthumous Son of William Turbutt Wright of Queen Anne's County, Maryland," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 53, No. 1 (Mar. 1964):46-50. FHL Collection 973 B2ng v. 53
  • [Claiborne] Washington, S.H. Lee. "William Claiborne: His Parentage and Pedigree," The William and Mary Quarterly, 2nd Ser., Vol. 19, No. 4 (Oct. 1939):474-475. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • [Claiborne] Torrence, Clayton. "The English Ancestry of William Claiborne of Virginia: Part I: A Critical Study of the Traditionally Stated English Origins," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 56, No. 3 (Jul., 1948), pp. 328-343. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • [Claiborne] Torrence, Clayton. "The English Ancestry of William Claiborne of Virginia: Part II. The English Connection," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 56, No. 4 (Oct., 1948), pp. 431-460. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • [Claiborne] Dorman, John Frederick and Claiborne T. Smith. Claiborne of Virginia, Descendants of Colonel William Claiborne, The First Eight Generations. Baltimore: Gateway Press, Inc., 1995.
  • [Claiborne] Davis, Virginia Lee Hutcheson. "William Claiborne, 1621 The George to Virginia," Tidewater Virginia Families: A Magazine of History and Genealogy, Vol. 12, No. 1 (May/June 2003):3-7. FHL Collection 975.51 D25t
  • [Paca] Harris, Mrs. Norris. "The Paca Family of Queen Anne's County, Maryland," The Maryland and Delaware Genealogist, Vol. 31, No. 2 (Spring 1990):69. FHL US/CAN Book 975 B2m.
  • [Wright] Hardy, Stella Pickett. Colonial Families of the Southern States of America. New York: Tobias A. Wright, 1911. Digital version at Google Books - free.
  • [Wright] Brown, John B. "The Posthumous Son of William Turbutt Wright of Queen Anne's County, Maryland," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 53 (1965):46-50.

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Through a Joint eGovernment Service of the Maryland Judiciary and the Maryland State Archives, free images and indexes of the complete series of Queen Anne's County Deed Books (1706-present) have been uploaded to their website: A Digital Image Retrieval System for Land Records in Maryland. (Requires free registration.)

Local Histories

Maps and Gazetteers

Mdqueenanns.jpg

Migration

Military Records

Revolutionary War

Queen Anne's County men served in the 5th Maryland Regiment[7] and the 6th Maryland Regiment.[8]

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Digital version at Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Maryland, Queen Anne's County on page 128.

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, Maryland, Queen Anne County, p. 154. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Queen Anne's served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Queen Anne's:

- 6th Regiment, Maryland Infantry, Company K

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

School Records

Tax Records

Vital Records

Birth

Marriage

Death

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Museums

Societies

  • Queen Anne’s County Historical Society
    124 S. Commerce Street
    P. O. Box 62
    Centreville, MD 21617
    Phone: 410-758-3010
    Email: info@qachistory.org
    Website
  • Upper Shore Genealogy Society
    USGS of MD
    P.O. Box 275
    Easton, MD 21601
    Email: USGSMD@yahoo.com
    Website

Websites

Research Guides

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883), 154. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Queen Anne, Maryland," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Queen_Anne%27s_County,_Maryland."
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Maryland.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Queen Anne's County, Maryland" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/Queen_Anne%27s_County,_Maryland_Genealogy, accessed 12 August 2018.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "5th Maryland Regiment," http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/5th_Maryland_Regiment, accessed 31 May 2012.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "6th Maryland Regiment," http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/6th_Maryland_Regiment, accessed 31 May 2012.