Quebec, Canada Genealogy
Guide to Quebec ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
|Quebec Research Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Quebec Information[edit | edit source]
Quebec is a province in Canada. It is the only French speaking province.
History[edit | edit source]
Authorities in New France became more aggressive in their efforts to expel British traders and colonists from the Ohio Valley. They began construction of a series of fortifications to protect the area.
By 1756, France and Britain were battling the Seven Years' War worldwide. In 1758, the British mounted an attack on New France by sea and took the French fort at Louisbourg.
On October 30, 2003, the National Assembly of Quebec voted unanimously to affirm "that the people of Québec form a nation. On November 27, 2006, the House of Commons passed a symbolic motion moved by the Prime Minister declaring "that this House recognize that the Québécois form a nation within a united Canada."
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Quebec Research
Links to articles on getting started with Quebec research.
Quebec Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Quebec research.
Quebec Map[edit | edit source]
Historic Counties[edit | edit source]
Records in the catalog of the Family History Library are filed under these historic counties. Quebec's counties were dissolved in the early 1980s, and Quebec was then divided into regional county municipalities. However, the regional county municipality jurisdiction is not used in the vital records system, and therefore has little meaning for genealogy. Each county page, under "History" lists the modern RCMs associated with that county.
- Click here for a 1872 postal gazetteer which will tell you the historic county of a location. For communities settled and created after 1871, enter the locality name without the county in the search field of the Family History Library, to see whether records are available for that locality.
The Fur Trade[edit | edit source]
Migration Routes[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records - databases and record images on FamilySearch
- Family History Center locator map