Pytchley, Northamptonshire Genealogy
Guide to Pytchley, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Kettering|
|Parish registers: 1695|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1706|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton|
|Location of Archive|
|Northamptonshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
PITCHLEY, or Pytchley (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Kettering, hundred of Orlingbury, N. division of the county of Northampton, 2¾ miles (S. by W.) from Kettering. There is a small place of worship for Wesleyans. 
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Pytchley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Pytchley Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Northamptonshire Record Office.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy From Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Stentiford, Marjorie F. Three Pioneer Sisters From Pytchley. The three sisters Charlotte, Caroline and Emma, daughters of Richard and Mary Ann Dean, emigrated from Pytchley, with their families, to Adelaide, South Australia in 1838. Family names are Amy, Dean, Dainty, Langley, Lucas. The article is a recollection of stories of bygone days. There is a photo of Charlotte Amey, and Caroline Langley, and one of Robert and Emma (nee Dean), Lucas. Article is in Footprints, (Northamptonshire Family History Society Mag.) vol5.no.4, page 89-92, Family History Library Ref. 942.55 D25fo vol.5, no.4
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 17 November 2013.